Fordmods Logo

xt falcon conversion 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: xt falcon conversion
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 12:38 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 385

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: thirlmere
NSW, Australia

hey all

i have an xt falcon 68 model and thinking during the rebuild of going nuts and putting in an el motor i have rebuilt sitting around and a t5 gearbox

what will i need to do the conversion i cant see it as being hard besides the wiring
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 9:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

its quite straightforward, as long as you have the ecu > engine harness, all you will need to get it running is a smartlock bypass module, and obviously efi fuel pump and a return line into the tank. You will need to do a bit of wiring, and install a couple of relays for various things
We've just done a very similar conversion (au motor, el ecu, t5) into an XD falcon

 

 

Attachments:
Image078.jpg
Image078.jpg [ 65.83 KiB | Viewed 75 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 5:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 262

Joined: 5th Nov 2006

Location: wilcannia
NSW, Australia

aren't the pre xy engine mounts different ? or do you just use the earlier blockpieces as well and it all fits ? i was under the impression into an xd is just a bolt in affair engine mounts wise ?

 

_________________

vote for pedro ? f**k pedro, f**k him up his stupid a***hole.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

we needed the ea mounts to bolt straight into the XD, EB onwards were slightly different. I guess as a start you could try using 250 precrossflow mounts and see how it fits
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:53 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 385

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: thirlmere
NSW, Australia

well i am going to use the preef intake setup as i have it already and helps with intake height but with engine mounts im not sure will have to try the 250 ones and see i am pretty sure the sump is ok lots of room

the other thing is can i put a speedo drive for cable speedo on the t5 or are they all electric i would like to keep the original speedo

also does anyone know if the diff on an eb wagon and xt the same size and length etc

the other thing do i need to have a cat converter on it or not because its pre date for emissions
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 1:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

I have seen it for my self, the XD to XF engine mount brackets don't line up with the holes in the block for the OHC engine blocks. They look very similar to the EA ones, but slightly different.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 11:20 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 262

Joined: 5th Nov 2006

Location: wilcannia
NSW, Australia

what sort of computer are you using ? the std computer relies on a speed sensor signal. it might not be quite as critical with a manual, but it is something to think about.

 

_________________

vote for pedro ? f**k pedro, f**k him up his stupid a***hole.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 11:33 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 385

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: thirlmere
NSW, Australia

i was thinking either ea or eb wiring setup pre smartlock
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 1:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cjh wrote:
I have seen it for my self, the XD to XF engine mount brackets don't line up with the holes in the block for the OHC engine blocks. They look very similar to the EA ones, but slightly different.


The pic I posted above was a direct bolt in, AU motor, mounts from an EA, T5 and the XD tailshaft fit with no mods. Everything lined up etc, the only thing we modified was the gearbox crossmember to suit the T-5.
If its a manual it wont need a speed signal, if its a 4 speed auto then it will (if your using EA-EL ecu etc)
Smartlock is not much of an issue, as you can override it with a bypass module, if you use an EL ecu theres extra power to be had over an EA/EB non smartlock.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 31, 2008 8:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 196

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

I have been thinking of this mod for a while.
Just havnt gotten the tape measure out yet to check my EF and XM.

 

_________________

Mk2 Zephyr
2011 XR6 Special edition

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names