Fordmods Logo

zl motor into fd LTD 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: zl motor into fd LTD
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

hey all (again)
the other post i made (zl into zj) talks about the interior this one is for what i wanna do with the motor from the zl..

the ltd has numbers matching motor in it atm, but the motor is pretty sad, and in need of a little love (ie money) to bring it back to greatness. i was thinking until such time of loving money becomes avail, to pull the zl motor out and drop it into the FD LTD

i know that the zl's ran a slightly different computer in them right? EEC-IV verses the FD Bosche K-Tronic?
can i swap the motor, and the computer as well?
i have a complete car to be able to raid for parts if need be.

oh - the FD is EFI allready if that is any help to yaz?

cheers for your thoughts and advice guys and gals :)

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:30 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

bump!

any ideas please people?

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2007 6:53 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 212

Joined: 11th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

easyest just swap the loom and everything over i reckon, if uve already swaped the whole interior over should just be straight swap, im not sure on the ZJ but i would think that the ZL motor would go straigtht in, dont quote me on this though
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 158

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: '84 Zk Fairlane

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

it'll drop straight in but you WILL need to change the computer & loom over as the XF's had one less pin on the AFM, Different TPS and some of the later ones even had a knock sensor

 

_________________

ZK Fairlane Project Thread:
http://www.xfords.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2923

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:01 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

84_Fairlane wrote:
it'll drop straight in but you WILL need to change the computer & loom over as the XF's had one less pin on the AFM, Different TPS and some of the later ones even had a knock sensor


cheers mate for the info
i thought that the unleaded xfs where the ones to score the knock sensors tho?
I have the complete ZL at my disposal, so i can raid it as required till it works right.
this is just tempory tho, until i get the funds together to rebuilt the original matching numbers motor - so i can drive it around and enjoy the LTD luxury for a while... then itl get a complete rebuilt into better than factory condition resto :D
Much money, time and work to go into this project im sure!

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:15 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 158

Joined: 23rd Sep 2006

Ride: '84 Zk Fairlane

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

zk wrote:
84_Fairlane wrote:
it'll drop straight in but you WILL need to change the computer & loom over as the XF's had one less pin on the AFM, Different TPS and some of the later ones even had a knock sensor


cheers mate for the info
i thought that the unleaded xfs where the ones to score the knock sensors tho?
I have the complete ZL at my disposal, so i can raid it as required till it works right.
this is just tempory tho, until i get the funds together to rebuilt the original matching numbers motor - so i can drive it around and enjoy the LTD luxury for a while... then itl get a complete rebuilt into better than factory condition resto :D
Much money, time and work to go into this project im sure!


Yea the unleaded ones had the knock sensor, i wasent sure if ur ZL was leaded or unleaded so i wrote it

 

_________________

ZK Fairlane Project Thread:
http://www.xfords.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2923

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 9:23 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 156

Joined: 21st Oct 2006

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

Just use the bottom end...

JAIKAI
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 384

Joined: 26th Jun 2005

Ride: 1984 FD LTD

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

jaikai wrote:
Just use the bottom end...

JAIKAI

that idea did cross my mind, but the block is what has the engine number stamped onto, and i have a matching numbers block.

the head on the original motor is in a word... pretty much f**k - which might be something simple like a head gasket, but im not holding my breath on that one as there is oil in the coolant / coolant in the oil - lovely choc milk colour im sure... lol
(i topped the coolant up yesturday, and the radiator took at least 5L of water, and when running the car, i get a lot of steam outa the exhuast...)

so for the time being until i get my a*** into gear to get the original rebuilt, im gunna need to use this motor outa the ZL to drive the FD

 

_________________

Member Of "Team LWB"
FD: My Current Project

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... age029.jpg

ZL: A Work In Progress - that went to the tip!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v146/ ... maller.jpg

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:46 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 47

Posts: 156

Joined: 21st Oct 2006

Location: Morwell
VIC, Australia

More than likely just a head gasket, if you lift the head and the bores look good, the pistons don`t move around too much, maybe just put a new gasket on or use the other head, the other one will most likely be an E2 as well, better design

My wagon was using water for a long time, ended up running like a turd, all the symptoms of a head gasket...although only just- turned out the head was rooted, been getting chewed up back near No6 and aint worth the effort, the bottom end would be good for another couple hundred thousand with a new chain...either way, a fresh rebuild came along for the right price, I grabbed it and away I went, still got that bottom end too...

JAIKAI
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 31, 2007 11:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Should fit no problem. Runs a different computer, but if you have got all of that, should be a direct swap.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names