Fordmods Logo

SHIFT KITS 

 

Page 6 of 11 [ 153 posts ] Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next

 
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:23 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 109

Joined: 1st Nov 2006

Ride: EL XR6

I thought all 3 positions on the switch would be used (eg. soft-off-firm), but there would only be one terminal(?) for each position because theres only one wire for each.
So a pot is essentially an adjustable resistor? If so i can see why if you used a pot, you would only need one side of the switch.
Which resistor should be replaced with the pot? Both? With the same type of pot?
d**k Smith dont stock any 10w resistors at all.


Sorry for all the questions, just want to make sure i get it right. Oh and thanks again to raa4.0L for his help.

 

_________________

EL XR6 Manual
Tickford Kit, 18" ANZ's, Kings SL/SSL & Sachs.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 171

Joined: 28th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU series 2 ute

Location: Dalby
QLD, Australia

it is the 5.6 ohm resistor you replace with the pot.
1 side of the switch is for the wires from the shift kit theother side you can use for lights to tell you if the switch is on or off.
hope this helps

 

_________________

Holden's are a phase you go through then you grow some nuts and buy a FORD!!!!!!![/u]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 109

Joined: 1st Nov 2006

Ride: EL XR6

Oh, so i only really need to wire something to one terminal in each pair.
What is the difference going to be between using the standard resistor or the different value pot? Im only really going on availability but using a pot makes it adjustable right?
Is there any substitute for the 18ohm resistor so i dont have to search out of town or mail order one part to be able to finish it?

 

_________________

EL XR6 Manual
Tickford Kit, 18" ANZ's, Kings SL/SSL & Sachs.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 171

Joined: 28th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU series 2 ute

Location: Dalby
QLD, Australia

22 ohm but it makes it softer i think.
just folw the diagram i sent you for the switch and if you look in the start of this thread you will get some more info on the pot wiring and diagram for the lights.

 

_________________

Holden's are a phase you go through then you grow some nuts and buy a FORD!!!!!!![/u]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 109

Joined: 1st Nov 2006

Ride: EL XR6

Thanks. Not really interested in having lights or anything, just still need to know if i have no choice but to use 10w resistors, or whether 5w is ok?

 

_________________

EL XR6 Manual
Tickford Kit, 18" ANZ's, Kings SL/SSL & Sachs.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 171

Joined: 28th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU series 2 ute

Location: Dalby
QLD, Australia

if you use the 5 watt ones i think you have to double up on them.
check near the start of this thread i know its in hear some where :?

 

_________________

Holden's are a phase you go through then you grow some nuts and buy a FORD!!!!!!![/u]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 10:18 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 109

Joined: 1st Nov 2006

Ride: EL XR6

Yeah i read through the thread again but couldnt find anything.
Anyway i found out that a local electronics shop is actually a jaycar parts supplier so i ordered the 10w resistors. They come in monday so i'll make and install then.

 

_________________

EL XR6 Manual
Tickford Kit, 18" ANZ's, Kings SL/SSL & Sachs.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 25, 2007 9:30 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 171

Joined: 28th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU series 2 ute

Location: Dalby
QLD, Australia

kool have fun

 

_________________

Holden's are a phase you go through then you grow some nuts and buy a FORD!!!!!!![/u]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2007 9:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 104

Joined: 5th Jan 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

is their a reason for using the 3 stage switch?

Can i use a three pin on/off switch?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

doofdoof23 wrote:
is their a reason for using the 3 stage switch?

Can i use a three pin on/off switch?


I wouldnt call them a 3 stage switch. Nor a on/off.

They can be 3 pins. Its called a SPDT switch.

You can have a 6 pins and this is called a DPDT.

They are not simply a on/off but more of a on/on switch.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 9:47 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 104

Joined: 5th Jan 2007

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

cheers.

Will i expect chirps at the gears changes? :twisted:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

doofdoof23 wrote:
cheers.

Will i expect chirps at the gears changes? :twisted:

Depends on how hard you put ypur foot down :roll: :twisted:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 2:47 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 109

Joined: 1st Nov 2006

Ride: EL XR6

Just finished making and installing my shift kit for my EB fairmont. The car seems to be stuck in LHM so I'll leave the battery disconnected for a while and see how it goes.

 

_________________

EL XR6 Manual
Tickford Kit, 18" ANZ's, Kings SL/SSL & Sachs.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:27 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 109

Joined: 1st Nov 2006

Ride: EL XR6

Well i tried restting the ecu, and cleaning up all the connections but its still stuck in LHM.
Just to be sure i did it right, when splicing wire 1 into the correct pin, you're supposed to connect it to the side of the wire going into the ecu, not the side of the qire that came from the loom, correct?

 

_________________

EL XR6 Manual
Tickford Kit, 18" ANZ's, Kings SL/SSL & Sachs.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 171

Joined: 28th Nov 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU series 2 ute

Location: Dalby
QLD, Australia

wire 1 goes to pin 29 and you just splice it in.
wire 2 goes to pin 7 on tcm side.
wire 3 goes to other side of the cut wire pin 7.

 

_________________

Holden's are a phase you go through then you grow some nuts and buy a FORD!!!!!!![/u]

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 6 of 11  [ 153 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 11  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names