Fordmods Logo

THERMO FAN INTO EB PLEASE HELP!!! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: THERMO FAN INTO EB PLEASE HELP!!!
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 7:46 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 37

Joined: 28th May 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK i just got a brandnew set of thermofans to put in my EB i've read all the threads on here i've got it in the car and hooked everything up and nothing.In one of the threads on installing thermos it says to cut the plug off that has x3 wires x2orangs & x1 grey anyhow my thermofans have x4 wires x2blue & x2black wires this mybe because i got my Thermo's from SSS which would be aftermarket ford thermos.Anyhow can somebody help me out has anyone installed thermo's from sss that have x2blue and x2black wires.I need to get this done as i really need my car back on the road by tommorrow arvo oh! i just want to double check i got the right fans i got EL thermo fans did i get the right ones as i was going to get EF and the bloke that sold them to me said that i needed EL once he knew i was putting them in a EB for some reason i've always thought you need EF

Last edited by chops1 on Fri May 30, 2008 8:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 553

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Ride: Peacock EB Falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The blue wires should be the positive side, the black should be the negative

Image

Follow this guide and you shouldn't really go wrong.
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/EA-ED-Th ... n-d97.html

 

_________________

Wanted, CFI manifold

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 8:46 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 37

Joined: 28th May 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thats what i went by but nothing at all my fans would'nt fire up i got a Davies Craig thermal switch kit my swithch looks differant to the one in the pictures.Also on the thermal switch where spade connectors join to the green wire from the relay goes to one and the wire you run to your ACC for power goes to the other but it does'nt say in the instruction which wire goes where on one of the pins on the thermal switch it has a 1 in the middle where there is no pin it's got a 2 and infront of the other pin it has a 3.Also if setting up the thermo fan just for your radiator do you still need to use x2 relays?.As i dont use my aircon
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 3:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 37

Joined: 28th May 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

All is well i had wired everything up correctly the reason my fans would'nt work was the actual switch.On the inside of the thermatic switch there is alittle star screw i had to do it up acouple of threads as the contact point were'nt coming into contact with easch other all i have to do is set up a by-pass switch.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

That little star screw is the temp setting for the switch, turn it in and it comes on earlier. Also yes you do need 2 relays as these fans draw like 50A on start up, bugger all after they are running but s**t to get them to start.
Reason i know is i spoke to a sparky and he told me must run 2 relays
Cheers
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:00 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

i run 3 so you can runone of the fans off the air con, if you read my Docco on how to install them and wiirethem you cant go wrong.

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 9:58 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 37

Joined: 28th May 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks for the replie's fella's i got abit confused as i had everything set up right i had triple checked all wiring.Aswell as checked it all with a multi meter and nothing as i said it was the switch.But all is good and well now i've just got to set up a by-pass switch and it's all done.Once it gets closer to summer i'll hook it up to my air con.Also when i set the by-pass switch up is it best to run a fuse with it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 6:43 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 50

Posts: 3227

Joined: 12th Feb 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 113 rwkw

Location: your mums
NSW, Australia

yes always good to run a fuse

 

_________________

BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 5:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 251

Joined: 1st Jul 2006

Ride: EBII Fairmont 4.0 206rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey guys. Had a few issues today with the thermos in my EB. They've been fine for about 2 months but yesterday all the wiring melted.

Had a mechanic from work play with it and made some new wiring but now it keeps blowing fuses.
But it was only a 30amp fuse and 1 relay.

After reading this thread, do i need to run 2 realys?
Will 2x 50amp do?
What about the fuse? 40 is the biggest i can find.

Cheers. Trav.

 

_________________

EBII Fairmont = 206rwkw
EL Fairmont = Daily

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

1 x 30 amp fuse and one relay is not big enough. You need to run each fan with its own relay, and its own fuse.

In my drift car, i run
- EL falcon fans
- 2 x 50 amp relays
- 2 x 50 fuse blocks

Never had a problem. My EB has the same thermos, but is run off the factory EF wiring loom and systems that it also has.

The EF from factory runs 1 fusible link of 60amp, but it has 2 relays. Not sure what ampage they are, but 40 amp relays should be sufficient.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 6:56 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 251

Joined: 1st Jul 2006

Ride: EBII Fairmont 4.0 206rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Does each fan have its own wiring? Think mines just got the 1 lot?

 

_________________

EBII Fairmont = 206rwkw
EL Fairmont = Daily

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

From the factory, you have 1 thick wire coming from the fusible link, splitting into the 2 relays, from there they have there own wiring into the fans. Also, the ecu puts out individual wires to the relays to turn them on.

On an aftermarket, or custom like yours, you may aswell fit each fan with its own wiring system. Only way to go.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 251

Joined: 1st Jul 2006

Ride: EBII Fairmont 4.0 206rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I just had a look. I see what has to be done.
Thanks heaps for the help. Trav.

 

_________________

EBII Fairmont = 206rwkw
EL Fairmont = Daily

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 251

Joined: 1st Jul 2006

Ride: EBII Fairmont 4.0 206rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Put in a 30amp fuse/relay 2n1 job.
Seems to be fine atm.
Jaycar guy rekons the fuse holder was too close to the battery.

 

_________________

EBII Fairmont = 206rwkw
EL Fairmont = Daily

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names