Fordmods Logo

3.9 LSD into EF, Speed gears? 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

so for people with autos i cant see how u can do it without using 2 adjusters....or is it possible to split the signal so the speedo gear goes direct to the ecu and dash at the same time (parallel instead of series)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

gogetta wrote:
so for people with autos i cant see how u can do it without using 2 adjusters....or is it possible to split the signal so the speedo gear goes direct to the ecu and dash at the same time (parallel instead of series)


I was thinking that you could split the ECU signal BUT i was reading the pin out guide and it seems that there is a different signal output from the cluster then what the cluster gets. Is this correct?

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

As far as i know, there is a plain white wire (speedo input) that goes into pin 4 on the right hand side cluster connector, that is the wire you intercept for the speedo correction, then there is another plain white wire (speedo output) next to it in pin 5 which goes to your ecu.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

I may be wrong but I think the speedo signal goes to the ECU and to the speedo and the other output from the cluster is for the trip computer/clock. Only a single wire goes to the dash,the wire will be split off to the ECU in the loom, less wire used, makes looms cheaper. They do it all the time.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

falconea wrote:
I may be wrong but I think the speedo signal goes to the ECU and to the speedo and the other output from the cluster is for the trip computer/clock.


According to this tech doc on swapping clusters, pin14 is for the trip computer

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=14
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

Yep your correct just pulled the wiring diags and data sheets out for the dash and its in on 4 and out on 5.
I was thinking of Ea/Ed.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 8:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

stomper wrote:
gogetta wrote:
so for people with autos i cant see how u can do it without using 2 adjusters....or is it possible to split the signal so the speedo gear goes direct to the ecu and dash at the same time (parallel instead of series)


I was thinking that you could split the ECU signal BUT i was reading the pin out guide and it seems that there is a different signal output from the cluster then what the cluster gets. Is this correct?


yeah would be interested to know if the cluster modifies the signal in any way....guess the only way to be sure would be to put it up on a 2ch oscilloscope

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 476

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: 1990 EA Spac

Location: grenfell
NSW, Australia

I dont think it modifys it just buffers it so the ECU gets a good signal without loss and waveshape change.

 

_________________

Drive safe, arrive alive

EA Spak EL dash and interior, thermo's,BBM, EF head and cam, superlows,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 10:26 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 266

Joined: 16th Feb 2007

Correct the speedo and not the box job done.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.9 LSD into EF, Speed gears?
Posted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

Gday, just digging an old thread. I just got 3.9's for my car which is auto, can i just get the shiftkits.com speedo corrector and set the speedo correctly. Do I have to worry about shift points once the speedo is correct?

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.9 LSD into EF, Speed gears?
Posted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:16 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 35

Joined: 9th Mar 2005

Ride: AUIII XR8 ute

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Have you put the gears in yet? did it make a big difference?

I think that the auto would shift ok if the dash was corrected as the dash goes to the ecu, so if the dash reading is correct the ecu will think the same and still shift where it ment to ?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names