Fordmods Logo

4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

So this will totally mess up my speedo. I get this.
How do I go about getting the car to change in the right spots again?
What do I do to make the speedo correct?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

Barnfind-EA wrote:
So this will totally mess up my speedo. I get this.
How do I go about getting the car to change in the right spots again?
What do I do to make the speedo correct?


Is it a 3 speed or a 4 speed auto?

I believe Jaycar do a speedo adjustment kit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

SWC wrote:
Barnfind-EA wrote:
So this will totally mess up my speedo. I get this.
How do I go about getting the car to change in the right spots again?
What do I do to make the speedo correct?


Is it a 3 speed or a 4 speed auto?

I believe Jaycar do a speedo adjustment kit.


4 speed mate.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

J3 chip should be able to be programmed with the shift points adjusted to suit the 4:1 diff ratio,.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

SWC wrote:
J3 chip should be able to be programmed with the shift points adjusted to suit the 4:1 diff ratio,.


Awesome thanks mate. Will talk to Jason when the time comes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

AFAIK J3 wont work for trans on a boxcar as they are separate from the ecu. Unless you run an el ecu and wire the trans in to that. Could be wrong tho

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 230

Joined: 13th Feb 2014

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

ranga83 wrote:
AFAIK J3 wont work for trans on a boxcar as they are separate from the ecu. Unless you run an el ecu and wire the trans in to that. Could be wrong tho



Whats a boxcar?
I do have an EL ECU.. I guess see what happens.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

Boxcar is ea eb and ed. Wasnt til ef that trans control was integrated to the ecu

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 6817

Joined: 22nd Jun 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

ranga83 wrote:
AFAIK J3 wont work for trans on a boxcar as they are separate from the ecu. Unless you run an el ecu and wire the trans in to that. Could be wrong tho


Yes, you are right there.

J3 won't work unless he has used the EL wiring loom to the Auto.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: 4:1 Diff gears into an EA auto
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 5:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 699

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Ride: Lots, all Fords

Location: Hamilton
New Zealand

Only EA2 had separate ecu & tcm. All EB2 & ED had an integrated pcm. EB1 was a transition model

The J3 won't change the speedo reading, it will still be totally wrong

Use a speedo corrector from muzza. I have used several of his units and they are totally reliable, cheap and easy to install.

 

_________________

XA Faimont 351C, AU2 XR8 Manual 5.0, DA LTD 5.0, Mk1 Capri 5.0, 1995 Mustang 5.0, EF2 XR8 Manual, EF2 Fairmont Ghia 5.0, AU3 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Auto, AU2 XR8 Manual Ute, TE Cortina 5.0 Manual, DU LTD 5.0 soon to be manual

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names