Fordmods Logo

Annoying Rattle 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

Post subject: Annoying Rattle
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

Ride: Ef Fairmont Ghia

SA, Australia

Hello everyone, I bought myself an EFll Fairmont Ghia only 2 weeks ago. Have an AU for the wife, have had an ED (back when they were still fairly new), EF, and many MK1 and MK11 Cortinas in the past. Am loving the car so far, however it has an annoying rattle coming from the rear, not too loud, not too quiet, if you get what I mean. It will do it even on fairly smooth roads, I guess every little minor imperfection in the road, and I cant pinpoint which side its coming from. I'm no novice to cars, have been playing around with them for many years but cant seem to find out where its coming from. Ive been under there to work out where its coming from but nothing seems suss. Do the shocks in these have a habit of making a deep sounding rattle once there about to have the d**k?

Post subject: Re: Annoying Rattle
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:31 pm 
Fordmods Junkie

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

VIC, Australia

Shocks can make a rattle if the lower bolt is loose. It needs to be done up f**k off tight.

Factory spec is 105Nm with weight on the wheels.

I'd start there.

Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2010 8:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie

SA, Australia

Thanks mate, ill get him up on the jack stands and get a breaker bar on there to see if that fixes it.

Posted: Mon Aug 23, 2010 5:30 pm 
Parts Gopher

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: NL Fairlane V8

NSW, Australia

Grippy wrote:
Thanks mate, ill get him up on the jack stands and get a breaker bar on there to see if that fixes it.

Did you fix the rattle? I have the similar sound coming from (I think) the rear passenger side!? I removed the bolster, tightened the rear parcel shelf including the speaker nuts, the gas tank bolts and nuts... but it's still there... it does seem like its coming from with inside the car... Mmmm...

'98 NL Fairlane Ghia 5.0l