Fordmods Logo

AU 4Spd Auto to EF motor ? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU 4Spd Auto to EF motor ?
Posted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 9:32 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 52

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 87 XF Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hey Guys,

Does anyone know if you can bolt an AU 4 speed auto box to an EF motor 4.0 ?
I assume they're all the same, but I'd like to be sure before buying it.

Whole lots going in an XF so Im not worried about the wiring matching.

Thanks,

Mike
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1380

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FPV BF MKII F6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah as long as its an au1 or 2 as i have this on my car. make sure you get the torque converter off the au as well it just bolts up easily but its a f**k of a job

 

_________________

OBS35N is gooonnnneeee.
Gone for good..... Damn fence posts!!!!!

OBS35N #2 (XXF6XX) just bought, bring it on

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU 4Spd Auto to EF motor ?
Posted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 7:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

mikejh wrote:
Hey Guys,

Does anyone know if you can bolt an AU 4 speed auto box to an EF motor 4.0 ?
I assume they're all the same, but I'd like to be sure before buying it.

Whole lots going in an XF so Im not worried about the wiring matching.

Thanks,

Mike
You will need to retain your EF bell housing of you have one otherwise you need to get one , the AU one is different due to the sump on the AU.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 13, 2005 11:27 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 52

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 87 XF Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thanks for that, I did know about the AU alloy bellhousing but didn't think about it. Its good you mentioned that.

Do you know if they have the same alloy cast brackets that go from the box to the block ?

Thanks,

Mike
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

mikejh wrote:
Thanks for that, I did know about the AU alloy bellhousing but didn't think about it. Its good you mentioned that.

Do you know if they have the same alloy cast brackets that go from the box to the block ?

Thanks,

Mike
I don't think there are brackets on the AU it is integral with the sump.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Okay...so if im going to put an AU engine in my EL i will need to utilise the bell housing from an AU. Correct? Im keeping my EL autobox too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

i think u will find the AU sump wont fit in an E series car, so u will need to swap sumps... nice part of the world u live too mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

I have done a bit of reading around about installing AU engines into EF/EL falcons, from what i found all you have to do is grind off a couple of fins on the sump to clear the 'k' frame, but still doesnt leave a hell of a lot of room (only just).

U been to Bunbury before have you xpression?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

fordman351 wrote:
Okay...so if im going to put an AU engine in my EL i will need to utilise the bell housing from an AU. Correct? Im keeping my EL autobox too.
Correct, you will need the auto bell housing from the AU and also the AU alternator. All the rest is OK with the exception of the AC pump mounting spacers, they need to be cut down in length to allow for the different alternator position. PM me and I will point you to my doco on the motor changeover including the K frame mod.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Damn! I thought i'd just be able to get away with buying an AU long motor and bolt all my EL ancillaries onto it. Oh well. PM sent. :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 8:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

fordman351 wrote:
I have done a bit of reading around about installing AU engines into EF/EL falcons, from what i found all you have to do is grind off a couple of fins on the sump to clear the 'k' frame, but still doesnt leave a hell of a lot of room (only just).

U been to Bunbury before have you xpression?
I think the concensus from previous discussions was not to grid the fin, my experience is that although I ground a bit off mine it now leaks from there. Even with it ground flat there is still clearence problems unless the engine mounts are moved.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:53 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names