Fordmods Logo

AU 4SPD in ED, possible? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU 4SPD in ED, possible?
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 59

Posts: 247

Joined: 6th May 2006

Gallery: 29 images

Location: Victoria
VIC, Australia

Hey guys, how is everyone. Just wanted to know if anyone one of you guys might be able to help me with a problem. My auto is dying in me ED6, and after 313000 km on same box (1 owner, me), I think has served me well.

The symptoms first. Once car warms up to when thermos need to come on, and if I'm driving slowly, the transmission will change so harshly, it feels like it may be it's last gear change. Now, there are two davies craig coolers with both bypassing radiator, and this has worked for me for the last ten years, all with towing a 16ft caravan 5 or 6 times a year, so coolers are working fine, and i also get it serviced every 12 months, so 2 months ago is not too long ago for oil to need changing again.

Anyway, my question. I got offered an AUII 4 speed auto with about 100K on it cheap, and I wanted to know if these will fit in my ED, or would it be better putting an ED one in? Just a thought, because the newer it is, the longer it's PROBABLY going to last.

Any thoughts and help is muchly appreciated.

Cheers,

Mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:01 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 172

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

nah i'm pretty sure that the AU tranny is different to the ED one, but instead of just putting in a new auto recon...why not do a manual conversion? won't have any of these hassles.

 

_________________

2002 BA XT: Painted calipers, K&N pod filter, Pioneer head unit, Fusion sub and amp, driving lights, spoiler, 19" rims, twin 2.25" exhaust with quad tips.

Soon to come... Pacemaker Extractors, supercharger.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 2:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1380

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FPV BF MKII F6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

well i know i put an AU auto tranny in my ef so i guess it could be done if u changed the bell housings.

 

_________________

OBS35N is gooonnnneeee.
Gone for good..... Damn fence posts!!!!!

OBS35N #2 (XXF6XX) just bought, bring it on

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 7:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

The extension housing is different, swap it over. The bellhousing might be different, not sure on that one.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:49 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 20

Joined: 27th May 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I've got an AUIII trans in my ED.

Lower bellhousing is different.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 8:51 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 63

Posts: 49

Joined: 29th Dec 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

harsh shifts is usually the S5 solenoid playing up. An AU box will fit in a ED, You are better off using the ED bell housing as then it matches your cover plate. By the way make sure your bell has 9 holes to bolt it on to the AU box (it should have) if an early 4 bolt housing is bolted to a late box you will have major oil leaks as you will crack the main housing of the box unless you do some major mods(grinding) of the case. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:03 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names