Fordmods Logo

AU Falcon auto gear changing issue 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU Falcon auto gear changing issue
Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:02 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 8

Joined: 12th Sep 2009

Ride: AUII Falcon Forte

Location: Greensborough
VIC, Australia

I had this problem happen the other day and it happened again today so i thought i'd see if anyone else has had the same problem or not. This has only happened twice ever, both within 4 days of eacher and under similar conditions. Whats been happening is when I've taken off from stationary in economy mode (not sure if thats just a coincidence or not) I'll be in first gear, and at the same rpm that it would usually change to second at it suddenly drops into neutral, I tried moving the shifter back to first aswell as moving it to neutral and then back into gear with no luck, after ~10 seconds it picks the gear back up and functions normally again. Anyone else had this happen? Or have an idea what would be causing this? Is this a sign of my auto box on its way out or a computer issue?\
Oh also, it's a 2001 series II sedan with 140,000 on the clock
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU Falcon auto gear changing issue
Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3455

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Take the Neutral start Switch off the l/h side of the auto, clean it off and put a little wd40 in the hole where the shaft goes through, hook it back up and go for a ride. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU Falcon auto gear changing issue
Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 8

Joined: 12th Sep 2009

Ride: AUII Falcon Forte

Location: Greensborough
VIC, Australia

Great thanks mate, I'll give it a shot and see how it goes
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: AU Falcon auto gear changing issue
Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 652

Joined: 31st Aug 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 08 BF Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Unlikely to be the switch, Look at getting fluid levels checked and topped up. Could need ajustment. Try it in normal mode. Econ mode changes shift points early.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 12:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names