Fordmods Logo

au t5 and ea t5 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

hey guys, i have my brothers old ea t5 in the shed which recently got stuck in 2nd gear with the sycros in 3rd and 4th MIA and we were quote 2600 for exchange or 3100 for that box rebuilt, now an au t5 has come up for sale in the local pocket trader, would the ea exstention housing be able to bolt onto the au gear box making it the correct lenght or would it still be too long for the e series

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

mitchell g wrote:
hey guys, i have my brothers old ea t5 in the shed which recently got stuck in 2nd gear with the sycros in 3rd and 4th MIA and we were quote 2600 for exchange or 3100 for that box rebuilt, now an au t5 has come up for sale in the local pocket trader, would the ea exstention housing be able to bolt onto the au gear box making it the correct lenght or would it still be too long for the e series


it is longer i beleive, it will sit the gear stick near or in your console (I think)

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

yeah i knew the au box is longer thats why i was thinking about bolting the exstention housing off the ea gearbox on to the au box

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 4:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

also the ea box has different ratios to the late eb and onwards so weather that means the extension housing wont fit i dont know but there a few differences in the gear boxes

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 4:25 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 333

Joined: 20th Apr 2011

Ride: 1991 eb1 fairmont

Location: townsville
QLD, Australia

mainshaft and selector longer as well
had this trouble with an old triumph tc.
had to change the main shaft and extension housing to keep my overdrive on the $100 full recon 4 speed.
however the au box should be a world class t5 but the ea won't be if original.
contact mal wood automotive as he may know of an extention housing to fit the au box but suit the e-series shifter location
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 4:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

yeah i know ratio diffrences but thats inside the box

the old man said that the sharft maybe to long

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

You can get reco boxes for under $700 exchange on ebay.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3347

Joined: 19th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Farleigh
QLD, Australia

i'll have to wait

my uncle informed us to avoid internet $700 boxs cause they got ome that had be painted and didn't even drain the old oil out

 

_________________

Muts EL Fairmont Ghia
Image
did someone call 9 1 HOLY s**t?

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: au t5 and ea t5
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:31 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

some local trans shops have quoted me $900 exchange for a reco t5 when mine was manual.. $2600-3000 is a rip off... i think you can get a new t56 for around $3700
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names