Fordmods Logo

AU Tiptronic? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU Tiptronic?
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 4:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Hey guys,

I was cruising about on ebay today and stumbled across this:

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/MOMO-steering-wh ... dZViewItem

i realise that AUs didnt have tiptronic, but what would those buttons have actually been used for? I imagine something flash on the TE50s and stuff?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: auto
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 5:43 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 366

Joined: 28th Aug 2005

Ride: Super pursuit

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

T series were the only au's to have tiptronic automatics

 

_________________

Super Pursuit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

was it actually tip tronic? like the BAs have?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:32 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 366

Joined: 28th Aug 2005

Ride: Super pursuit

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Not like BA's... BA you use the base transmission for everything. With the T series, you select drive normally and use the pads like a paddleshift type of operation

 

_________________

Super Pursuit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 967

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: TE50

Location: Brisvegas
QLD, Australia

Yup, what jet ute said, slot her in 'D' and then can control gears through pads on the steering wheel

 

_________________

Formerly SpuDEF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1775

Joined: 10th Jul 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BFII Turbo

Power: 253 rwkw

Location: Waurn Ponds
VIC, Australia

thats cool. Can this system be fitted to a regular AU falcon? what difference is there between the T series sequential and the standard btr? is it a big op to change? and the biggie... how much?

 

_________________

enough isn't enough

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1863

Joined: 30th Apr 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

More Grunt wrote:
thats cool. Can this system be fitted to a regular AU falcon? what difference is there between the T series sequential and the standard btr? is it a big op to change? and the biggie... how much?


I don't know too much about it, other than to say I've read eslewhere that it's fairly difficult and expensive.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

thats kinda cool. had never realised that before.

and as for retro fit, cant be impossible, i know dellboy fitted ba tip tronic to his ea. as for cost... well... yeah. lol

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:50 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Private9 wrote:
More Grunt wrote:
thats cool. Can this system be fitted to a regular AU falcon? what difference is there between the T series sequential and the standard btr? is it a big op to change? and the biggie... how much?


I don't know too much about it, other than to say I've read eslewhere that it's fairly difficult and expensive.


i looked into it

basically teh tranny IS different on the inside
u would need a T series ECU as the triptronic program is on that
and all T series are V8's so that rules out the 6cyl boys

Now if u could get friendly and i mean real friendly with a good ford dealer
you MAY be able to get the triptronic program placed into your ecu ...

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:02 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names