Fordmods Logo

AU2, AU3 calipers on AU1 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: AU2, AU3 calipers on AU1
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

do the AU2 and AU3 calipers fit AU1 with out modification

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 10:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

in short, no, the disks and i believe the uprights are different
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

so they are same as ef el?

do au1 have bigger brakes than ef el

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 1:43 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sickd wrote:
so they are same as ef el?

do au1 have bigger brakes than ef el


the calipers are the same as ef/el
discs are different

to fit au2/3 brakes on au 1 u need the uprights/lower control arms
claipers/discs/ anti roll bar

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

have you done this disco, so the upright (spindle (what the caliper bolts to) ) wont bolt to the upper and lower control arms of the au1 ?

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 12:04 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

i dont believe it does no...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 12:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 3519

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8, XD Fairmont Ghia

Location: Ferntree Gully
VIC, Australia

we sell a few of these kits from BA's

you will need

lower control arms
uprights / spindles
rotors
calipers
sway bar and sway bar mounts

can do the set up for $1250

this is for 300mm ba stuff
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 1:16 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sickd wrote:
have you done this disco, so the upright (spindle (what the caliper bolts to) ) wont bolt to the upper and lower control arms of the au1 ?


no it dont fit
i did want to do this as the au1 xr's brakes suck balls but since i am selling the car

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 9:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 607

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: XR6

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

xr8 dismantler wrote:
we sell a few of these kits from BA's

you will need

lower control arms
uprights / spindles
rotors
calipers
sway bar and sway bar mounts

can do the set up for $1250

this is for 300mm ba stuff


so would the au front end (lower control arm uprights shocks kframe ) all suspension parts bolt to a ef so then i could do this brake mod and in turn have AU offset

 

_________________

BA XR8 BOSS 260
Winter White
18' gt-p wheels
Flash Tuned
2 jl 13.5' w3's
tv indash

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 3:07 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 33

Joined: 21st Oct 2006

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Guys, how owuld you install the rear mounting bushes of the series II/II or even BA to a series I. I beleive they are missing the mounting block in the chassis. Is this correct?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:40 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 130

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I am looking at doing this and I am about to get some bf front suspension and I have looked at it all, and I would like to know, how do you attach the sway bar mounts as the au1 chassis is missing 2 holes on each side of the chassis for the bracket to bolt on to. will the au2/3/ba/bf sway bar fit in the existing mounts?

The only other this I thought of is drilling 4 holes, but I dont really want to do that.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 8:51 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 130

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

if I were to get the 'kit' from the BA with all the front suspension etc... are the ABS sensors the same? if yes then no worries.

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:01 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names