Fordmods Logo

Auto loom with a T5 manual 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 580

Joined: 9th Sep 2009

Ride: EF Falcon GLi

Location: ADELAIDE
SA, Australia

G'day, im gonna do the manual conversions very soon and im tying up a few loose ends, I have every bit I need to do this conversion, however! I no the Auto transmission has its loom and a manual has its specific loom, do I need to run an Auto loom with a T5 manual or can I get the manual loom and just plug and play with no cutting soldering bla bla bla?

 

_________________

Now, I've got a message for all the other drivers out there. If you smell a delicious, crispy smell after the race, it's not your tailpipe. It's just a little of Shake...and Bake!
SHAKE AND BAKE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 433

Joined: 18th Jul 2009

Ride: NL FAIRLANE BA TURBO POWERED

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

There are two on flea bay at the moment
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

The manual loom will just plug and play and it deletes the inhibitor switch and such that was present on the auto... If you use the auto loom you have to add the short so it will start and two resistors I think so it doesn't throw codes and idles right... Come to think of it, it's not so much the loom for that it's the computer... Even if you run the manual loom with an auto computer it'll need the resistors installed up top... The short for the inhibitor switch is in the loom but, not the computer...

Only thing to be careful of, discovered that the EA has a different loom to the ED... Looked very similar but the wiring was in fact very different... We re-wired the EA loom for my brother's ED in the end as it was easier and just copied the wiring from my factory manual...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 580

Joined: 9th Sep 2009

Ride: EF Falcon GLi

Location: ADELAIDE
SA, Australia

Thanks guys, to easy! And saves me asking on a new thread can anyone point me in the direction of a build thread of a hi powered NA 6 Falcon, if use no of one that is :) I need some inspiration :mrgreen:

 

_________________

Now, I've got a message for all the other drivers out there. If you smell a delicious, crispy smell after the race, it's not your tailpipe. It's just a little of Shake...and Bake!
SHAKE AND BAKE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:55 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 3705

Joined: 27th Sep 2006

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: Leeton
NSW, Australia

Not bad power... And heaps of inspiration... This was a masterpiece...

ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/i6-individual-throttle-bodies-project-t87803.html?hilit=dsyfer

You talking EF/EL ? I'm not sure if there were any wiring changes on the manual loom that suited them... I know AU's the transmission loom is part of the engine loom... So you have to replace both...

Cheers,
Tim

 

_________________

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 51

Posts: 433

Joined: 18th Jul 2009

Ride: NL FAIRLANE BA TURBO POWERED

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

ef and el are different just the plugs really.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Auto loom with a T5 manual
Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1427

Joined: 21st May 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EL doesn't have a separate loom for the trans. The engine bay loom is all one piece.

If you swap to the manual loom, you still need the manual ECU, or a J3 chip with a manual tune on it.

If you go the J3 route, you can leave the auto loom and simply short the inhibitor switch. No need for resistors as the manual tune does not look for those items.

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia - Manual - Supercharged
- The Car
- The Headlights

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names