Fordmods Logo

auto stuck in overdrive!!! 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: auto stuck in overdrive!!!
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

hows it goin, i got a 4.0l auto ed fairmont an two nights ago when i got in it to drive home from my sisters place it was stuck in overdrive then when i turned it off an back on it was fine but this morning when i got in it to go to work it was stuck again, an this time it wont fall free again, giving me the s**t hearing my car struggling to move off the lights...

any help would be muchly appreciated :)

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 1:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

my auto did the same thing to me a few weeks ago... actually it was twice... both within a couple of weeks... but yeah turned the car off and back on and its fine now
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

its not stuck in overdrive, thats limp home mode! usually happens due to overheating of the transmission and a few other things, if your overdue for a trans service (or say whats a trans service) i suggest you go get a full flush done if this keeps up.

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

alright yeah my gearbox is bout fukd anyway i've got a new one to go in
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 24

Joined: 18th Apr 2006

Ride: XW / BF Falcons

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yeh, my ED has a similar problem. Gets stuck in 3rd when it gets warm after about 30 minutes driving stop/start. I've had it looked at a couple of times and it has been serviced and the solenoid valves have been checked as well as the solenoid mounting bases, but the problem is stil there. I haven't taken it anywhere else yet as I normally only travel short distances to/from home and work so it doesn't always happen.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2256

Joined: 5th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5 Star Boxcar

Location: blu mtns
NSW, Australia

ok my solution to the limp home mode problem is simple: throw a f**k T5 in!!!! auto box problems? what auto box problems? :D

 

_________________

Kezz's 5sp Box Car ---> RPD enhanced with a bunch of other stuff

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 2:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

kezz wrote:
ok my solution to the limp home mode problem is simple: throw a f**k T5 in!!!! auto box problems? what auto box problems? :D


ha ha true i'm on the lookout for a maunal conversion at the moment
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 3:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 296

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: EA II Fairmont Ghia S

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ALSO check the plug from the ECU to the transmission, there are around 4 wires that go to the transmission from the ecu. If one connector is dirty or making bad contact it will force the ecu into limp home mode.

I had this issue with my EA as the plug under the car had water in it after going skiing across a not so small puddle.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 06, 2006 6:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

shouldn limp mode happen after about 20 minutes or so of driving? thats what i always thought anyway... it was rebuilt about 8 months ago just before i bought the car, well thats what the recepts say


an im with ya kezz... been waiting for a t5, but i wanna buy a full car with a t5 cos i wanna grab some other bits off it for my other car aswell

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:04 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

mines doing it to & new selector switch is going in NEXT WEEK $90 fitted

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah wiring will make it go into limp home mode.. make sure you solder your shift in properly :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1802

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Horsham
VIC, Australia

yeah for sure abd don't snap the wires off cuz that will drive you mad trying to work out whats wrong with it
trust me i know

 

_________________

EFBIGNIK 145.9 RWKW Falcon / 16.27 @ 86.72mph (Stock)
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h38/e ... urnout.flv
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 6:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

lol I broke the switch so had to use my wire twisting together skills to permanently put it into hard mode so I could drive again :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 7:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 686

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: ed fairmont ghia, ed gli

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

my wiring whould all be ok, unless something has broken one or something somewhere along the way. im over it anyway, just gunna have to get myself a t5 a bit sooner thats all :D

 

_________________

I LOVE MY DOG

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 708

Joined: 19th Jul 2005

Ride: 08 BF MK11 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Manly west
QLD, Australia

isnt that f**k odd? mine does it when cold and once warm i turn it off and on again and it will shift
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:49 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names