Fordmods Logo

BA sequencial sports shift not operating... help? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA sequencial sports shift not operating... help?
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:33 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Hi guys

Just hopped in the car and the performance mode / electronic sequencial shift is not working, it just stays in Drive (goes through Park, Netural, Reverse and Drive fine).

Does anyone know what could be causing this? Could it be a fuse?

Thanks

Luke

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

so when u put it in SSS, does the car just remain in normal drive? Also does the dash say PER or ADP when you move it there.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:49 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Yeah, thats right, when you move it across it actually doesn't say anything, it just still has 'D' on the dash. Stays in drive.

Push it forward, pull it back... doesn't do anything, doesn'r change on the indicator or the gears.

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 3:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmm, well seeing as SSS is fully electronic, then it could be a fuse or relay, have a look for the book and see if theres a fuse for the transmission, and if it exists, check it.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Yeah, I gotta wait until I get home and look at the service manual... but yeah, I've been playing around with it in the carpark and looking at the fuses, and I can't seem to find anything.

I don't know whats wrong with it.

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Most likely the sensor on the shifter itself.
Pop the T-bar surround off and have a look for anything out of the ordinary.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:22 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

This is weird the transmission wont go into PER mode if the car is at operating temp... but once cools down it will work, and it only sits on the 1st temp gauge.

I really don't have a clue on this one... as I thought it might be a fuse.

Maybe its in a limp home mode???

Any thoughts?

Cheers
Luke

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 11:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

maybe the gearbox is over heating? thats totally different to engine temp... also,check to make sure there isnt tranny oil in the coolant, they have a habit of radiators packing it in
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

That wouldnt stop it going into PERformance mode, it is an electronic fault, most likely within the shifter itself thats causing the issue.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 4:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 573

Joined: 27th Apr 2006

Ride: BA XT FALCON (2003)

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

you might want to also note that most police drive the falcons in performance mod... so they might have worn out the relay? or something along those lines...

and also maybe take off the surround and have a look around...

mine was playing up for a bit... and when i pulled off the cover and had a look i found a 1 dollar coin jamming it from activating drive properly...

the another thing is check your tranny fluid... one of my mates cleaned his out and found a heap of metal fillings and gunk in his fluid... which was a sign of further problems...

i'll pm you my mobile number if you want give us a calll and try and diagnose wtf is going on if it isn;t any of the above.

Cheers

Josh
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:34 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 134

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: BF MKIII XR inspired wagon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

When i did my floor shift conversion I noticed a small PCB at the base of the shifter that the harness is soldered into...it is directly related to the sideways action of the SSS. Fraud parts boys mentioned to me that some people have had problems with SSS and that this was the cause. Hope this helps....Linz.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 10:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 60

Posts: 134

Joined: 8th Jul 2006

Ride: BF MKIII XR inspired wagon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

When i did my floor shift conversion I noticed a small PCB at the base of the shifter that the harness is soldered into...it is directly related to the sideways action of the SSS. Fraud parts boys mentioned to me that some people have had problems with SSS and that this was the cause. Hope this helps....Linz.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 11:12 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Thanks guys, I'll take the surround off when I've got some free time and hopefully it might show something simple.

I did quickly speak to a guy from Southside Ford tonight, and he said it might be something to do with the ecu, and that was about the extent of that conversation.

Anyway, thanks again for the replies, I've had no luck looking in the service manuals, so I hope there is nothing major gone wrong.

Cheers!
Luke

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 11:45 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 258

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: '98 EL XR8

Location: Katherine
NT, Australia

Its been a while, and Im just following up on this one... the shift doesnt work at all now.

A guy who works at southside ford rekons they know what it is, something about the wiring loom near the brakes is loose or something like that, he was quite definate on thats what it would be.

I was just wondering does anyone know what they would be talking about??? The brake booster??? ABS control box???

Thanks
Luke

 

_________________

"...we can rebuild him, we have the technology... we just dont want to spend a lot of money."
SIX MILLION PESO FALCON

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:30 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

every one ive seen has been the sensors that are part of the shifter mechanism in the car. cant buy just the sensors, need to buy the entire piece. ill get a photo of it for u.. ive got a couple of broken ones around the place at work...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names