Fordmods Logo

Bad 4spd Auto - weird shift 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Bad 4spd Auto - weird shift
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

its a 3.9MPI EAII 4spd auto

now the box doesnt slip and shifts well but it has these probs:

- no OD(4th) selection
- no kickdown at all, any gear
- changes 1st to 2nd at 2500rpm (full throttle)
- drops back to 1st too eagerly when slowing down...

also what I noticed that seemed weird was the car has 2 TPS switches mounted together.....

do these boxes have a kickdown cable or is it electronic?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 4:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

No kickdown cable, kick down is from the ECU and TPS.

Should only have one TPS!!

If its not kicking down the accelerator cable maybe stuffed. Often the outer cable will become brittle and a section will fall out. This effectively shortens the cable travel. When you put your foot flat to the boards, full throttle is not available therefore no kickdown.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

checked the accel cable - was not getting full throttle, now is......

but still same problems...

I disconected the speedo sender and it made no difference except the speedo now stopped working....

need to check the readings that the tcu is getting but how?....

wonder if its the box (mechanicals) or sensor/tcu problem...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:01 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

madmax wrote:
Should only have one TPS!!


They have dual TPS's. One for the engine ECU, the other for the trans ECU.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2005 7:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

arm79 wrote:
madmax wrote:
Should only have one TPS!!


They have dual TPS's. One for the engine ECU, the other for the trans ECU.


Strange, I don't recall 2 on my EA, where is the other one? the only one I remember was on the outside of the throttle body (distributor side)

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 12:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

yeah its in the same position just on top of each other..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:16 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 148

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

Take it to a transmission shop. I have two TPS as well but only on a 3-spd (converted from CFI->MPFI) and the same problem I had. Turned out the kickdown cable was incorrectly adjusted to the accelerator cable.

So if you have recently renewed the accelerator cable or kick-down, this could be the problem.

I had a minor service at the same time, (bands, fluid, cables, filter) was $130.

 

_________________

1989 EA Falcon MPI (Converted! YAY!)
2.5" Sports System, Lowered, Thermofans, XG Snorkel
Result: 108.4rkw (145hp)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

fixed it today!!

was the tps for the auto - it was connected at the switch but further up the loom was another plug which was not connected....plugged it together and presto - all 4 gears and changes depending on throttle position..

still doesnt kickdown that eagerly and only holds to 4100 rpm on full throttle but its heaps better...cant believe its been like this for 3mths...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:53 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names