Fordmods Logo

BF 6 speed Auto 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BF 6 speed Auto
Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1552

Joined: 26th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok guys... i just want to know.. will there be any possibility of putting a BF 6 Speed Auto into a EF?

If so what will need to be done/changes

Cheers

 

_________________

SIGNATURE REMOVED - REFER TO FORUM GUIDELINES!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 8:30 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it will fit i reckon with the right bellhousing
BUT getting it to work on the otherhand is going to be a nitemare as i am assuming the aut is controlled by the BA ECU

if the auto has a Seperate ECu eg like the eb V8's etc

thepossible

fit a 6 speed manuakl instead as there are kits out and will be easier!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Yeah would be a mission and a half
you would need a spare 10-14g i reckon. I am yet to see one but they would need a custom bellhousing and then getting a trans controller to work with it!

Anything is possible as long as you have the $$$ to back it up!

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 9:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 223

Joined: 1st Jan 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU 1 Tonner

Location: Kariong
NSW, Australia

even if you got the bellhousing the problem would be the ECU with the BF being a 6 speed and the EF a 4 speed it would confuse the ECU a great deal

 

_________________

To be old and wise you first have to be young and stupid

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 10:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

BF 6 speeds do have a seperate ECU but it forms part of the CAN communication bus
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 10:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yas as neo_nick said...I'd looked into this when the ZF box was imported here but to have this all customed up and fitted it was way more than my car or a 6 speed manual setup from mal wood that could handle 400+rwkw doubt the ZF would take that off the shelf...

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:06 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

you want a six speed??

2 options

option 1 do a 6 speed manual converion.

option 2 buy a BF 6 speed either auto or manual..

not worth the hassle or the $$ to put it in any E series falcon..

the ECU issue alone would be massive..

the BA ECU had over 900 pages of code to control the car the BF with a six speed auto option has over 3000 pages of code, the bulk of the extra pages is used for controlling the auto box.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

Quote:
the BA ECU had over 900 pages of code to control the car the BF with a six speed auto option has over 3000 pages of code, the bulk of the extra pages is used for controlling the auto box.


:shock: ***shudders*** thats alot of code...

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:51 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 76

Joined: 5th Jul 2005

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Heyo,

Crazy idea #648:

You could always get two old 3spd auto gear boxes, get rid of one of the torque converters and graft it onto the back of the first gearbox, that will give you 6 speeds (well 9 actually but a few of the ratio combinations will be the same, eg if box A is in 3rd and box B is in 2nd, will be the same as box A in 2nd and B in 3rd, etc)

be cheap, as old 3spds aren't worth much these days, and you' have a low as 1st (about 1 : 5)

and you wont need to worry about ECU as they r hydraulic.

Regards
Rene.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 8:55 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 130

Joined: 11th Dec 2005

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

i totally agree with dc_todd, it's just not worth it

 

_________________

my car caught a cold, now it sneezes!

Some freak FLASHED it too, now it's angry!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Cruizin_Central wrote:
Heyo,

Crazy idea #648:

You could always get two old 3spd auto gear boxes, get rid of one of the torque converters and graft it onto the back of the first gearbox, that will give you 6 speeds (well 9 actually but a few of the ratio combinations will be the same, eg if box A is in 3rd and box B is in 2nd, will be the same as box A in 2nd and B in 3rd, etc)


ROFL HAHAHAHAHA that is f**k gold mate, best joke i've heard for a while.

Quote:
6 speed manual setup from mal wood that could handle 400+rwkw doubt the ZF would take that off the shelf


They're supposed to be able to handle 700nm of torque the 6spd auto, i remember reading up on it before the BF was released.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:36 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

the BF6 speed is acctually the gear box out of the Jaguar XKR-R thats a supercharged V8 Jag.. flagship car.. it punches out alot more torque than the GT's and Typhoons.. will try and get some torque figures for you all.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 9:42 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 130

Joined: 11th Dec 2005

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Campbelltown
NSW, Australia

The XKR-R pushes 553Nm as we know typhoon is at 550, the box is rated to 650Nm in V8 and turbo models

 

_________________

my car caught a cold, now it sneezes!

Some freak FLASHED it too, now it's angry!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 516

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The ZF box has an integrated bellhousing. The whole thing is one piece. There is no way it will fit. Even if it did there would be no way to control it.

Modern automatic transmission control is 10 times more complex than engine control and very sensative to changes in engine performance. If you change the whole engine there is no chance.

The sad fact is that with a modern auto there is very little scope to incease torque output without re-calibrating the transmission. Just ask the XR6-T guys how many autos they go through, it's not mechanical failure just burnt clutches from overheating because the transmission controller has no idea how much power the engine is putting out and doesn't put in enough pressure to shift properly.

 

_________________

Manual EL Gli.
Mods: Crow Stg3, Chiptorque Dynotune. Lukey Exhaust. DBA slotted rotors, EBC Pads. Whiteline Low Susp. EL GT Swaybars, ROH Envy 17 x235 wheels. Vehicle Datalogger Display V2.0,

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1162

Joined: 19th Jun 2005

Location: perth sor
WA, Australia

Spork wrote:

Modern automatic transmission control is 10 times more complex than engine control and very sensative to changes in engine performance. If you change the whole engine there is no chance.



true..

but they probably said that 10 years ago too.

 

_________________

current ride: worn out chuck taylors

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names