Fordmods Logo

clutch pedal switch? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: clutch pedal switch?
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:30 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok, im in the middle of preparing my car to got to a workshop to get the gearbox fitted, and am trying to get as much done as i can to lessen the cost.

While re-running the gas wiring to make clearance for the clutch pedal, i noticed that my EA manual pedal box has a clutch switch, with two wires.

The manual conversion doco said nothing about this, and i cannot find a matching plug for it under my dash.

Question time now... whats the switch for, and do i need it, if so how do i connect it up?

p.s. if needed i can get some pic's up

Thanks heaps
Rushed.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

switch is for cruise control shutoff just like brake pedal one :D

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

It is for cruise control

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

The EA only had it, and as far as I know it was for the ECU to know when the clutch is disengaged. It was too long ago to remember.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

I've a homemade clutch switch to fit that.

I removed it when i obtained a genuine EF one.

It plugs into the loom behind and above the fuse panel.
yours'll have a blanking plug covered in foam.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Krytox wrote:
I've a homemade clutch switch to fit that.

I removed it when i obtained a genuine EF one.

It plugs into the loom behind and above the fuse panel.
yours'll have a blanking plug covered in foam.
I searched for my plug and could not find it until I removed the dash to replace the pedal box. However mine does not work and I have not as yet found out why.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:08 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok i dont have cruise or ever plan to have it.

but...

i thin CJH, might be onto somthing, as the pedal box came out of an 89 EA S-Pack manual (no cruise).

so i assume i wont be needing this switch thing then?

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 1135

Joined: 27th Oct 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Location: SA
SA, Australia

nope, it was only there for when cruise is on so as to disengage the cruise before the motor reved its guts to the limiter :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:28 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

What everyone else said Marc...it is to disengage the Cruise Control. So if you don't have cruise just take it off or ignore it. I have that on my clutch as well...as well as on my brake pedal...though I am not sure if I should use the brake or the clutch switch *shrugs*

good luck with the conversion lazy a**.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 10:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Yeah on mine the clutch and brake switches were connector with a double adapter kind of thing and that plugged straight into the loom. The brake and clutch switches are just connected together so either switch will activate it.

Basically, if you dont have the 2 piece, just devise a way to connect the 2 switches in parallel to your existing brake swtich wire.

disclaimer: The above should be fine for ebii anything else... *shrug*
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:26 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well im ignoring it, as cruise if for lazy people "the gli excuse :) "

funny how this "anti cruise switch" came on a non cruise ea tho?

one less thing i have to do though, this conversion is getting fiddly, ive got all the bits except the, clutch pedal spring, and the clutch pedal > clutch cable clip. i get them from bayford and then its all in for drag day.

thanks guys.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 172

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

cruise may be for lazy people...but i couldn't live without it now! not so much around suburbia...but after a recent day out with a friend driving 500km+ in a day...i sure as hell was glad of it!

 

_________________

2002 BA XT: Painted calipers, K&N pod filter, Pioneer head unit, Fusion sub and amp, driving lights, spoiler, 19" rims, twin 2.25" exhaust with quad tips.

Soon to come... Pacemaker Extractors, supercharger.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

cjh wrote:
The EA only had it, and as far as I know it was for the ECU to know when the clutch is disengaged. It was too long ago to remember.

Not correct EF also have them :shock: :roll:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:02 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

um.... so some say its cruise (car it came from didnt have cruise)

and some say its for letting the ecu know when the clutch is engaged.

could this be due to the ea's having a seperate trans computer? and the eseries not.

i need to know if this is needed by tonight, as the conversion must go ahead.

thnkas guys

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Either way it won't effect your install.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names