Fordmods Logo

Cruise control diagnosis needed! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Cruise control diagnosis needed!
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

My cruise control began randomly disengaging out on the highway a while back, but now activates OK, but will not engage at all.

When I hit RESUME, I can hear it click under the dash near the firewall, but won't lock on and control the speed. The system powers up, the switches appear to work but no luck.

The system seems to be quite simple, but has anyone else had the same problem?

Thanks, Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 7:29 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Check your brake lights are working correctly.

Check the Cruise Condrol cable hasn't failed.

Also, Check brake fluid and pressure switch on the Master Cylinder.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 419

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Ghia 5.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks Krytox.

Brake lights: OK

Brake fluid: OK

Switch: unknown, but gave plug a jiggle.

Cable: hard to tell inside sheath.

Any ideas? I can hear the module clicking when I press the 'set' switch, so it's powered up and trying to engage.

Thanks, Mike

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5.0 - XR8 in a tuxedo....classy, low and loud

Bordeaux Purple, Tickford kit, slammed, 18" BA XR8's, EL Ghia chrome, full leather, Pioneer audio, C&C, ABS, LSD, Crane cam, GT40P heads, high flow cats, Genie extractors, lots of woodgrain, chrome and interior lights!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:19 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Cable must have dislodged or snapped. (rare) they're not under much load or used all the time.

You'll need to remove the CC motor, 3x10mm nuts, you'll also need to undo or loosen the brake master cylinder.

When the unit is out, there's a little clip that nests the correct position, press it in and rotate it anticlockwise to remove, inside you'll find a lead nipple and should be able to re-seat or replace it.

Thats the only explanation i can give as you say you can hear it.

I've never heard mine function, so the drive motor in it must pull all the way as there's no cable tension.

Also, the cruise won't work until you exceed 40kph, I thought I'd add that for testing purposes.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:00 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names