Fordmods Logo

Does anyone own or tried a shiftkit from Shiftkits.com? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Does anyone own or tried a shiftkit from Shiftkits.com?
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:23 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just wanting to know what they are like, and whether they are worth the money (in regards to how firmly the shift, and whether there is a noticeable \ worthwhile difference).

I really dont want to be cuttin my ECU wires to make my own shiftkit... so that is why im asking about these "plug-in" shiftkits.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:13 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Come on guys... surely some1 must have tried this shift kit. Bump
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Have you tried the search feature? Thiers probally quite a few threads on this so you might have luck thier. :)

Umm also that signature pic is way too big! :shock: LOL you should make it a bit smaller, no need to have a signature pic that big. :P

Good luck

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 1:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Due, I have one of their kits, it is the fully adjustable V8 kit for the EF. Was worth.2 of a second and 1mph on the strip. I can not recommend these kits enough. Was installed in less than 10 mins, but the V8 has a seperate computer for the Auto, the 6 uses the ECU to control the auto.

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 1:45 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Thanks for tha feedback...

Yeah my sig pic is pretty huge aint it... lol. I think il make it smaller!!! :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

I have one of the shiftkits too. Firms up the shifts nicely.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:52 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

you still have to cut 1 wire to the ECU

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 70

Posts: 1337

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Hilux 4x4 now

Location: South Windsor
NSW, Australia

:D I got one sitting on the bench for a i6 will put it in soon, its ajustable and has on off switch :D

 

_________________

Stercus accidit

In the 60's people took acid to make the world weird.
Now the world is weird and people take Prozac to make it normal...

Ken

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:09 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Disco Frank i thought the WHOLE POINT of the >>> $90 <<< shift kits from shiftkits.com was to piggyback onto the ECU... SO YOU DONT HAVE TO CUT ANY WIRES.

Correct me if i am wrong.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 35

Joined: 4th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

you are wrong, you have to cut wires to fit these units, i am running one of these in my ef and it was one of the best investments i have made, mine is the 2 stage kit

 

_________________

EF Fairmont I6 Auto, Wade 1004 cam, Chiptorque, Extractors, 2.5" System, Shift Kit, XR Snorkle, Ultra Low Springs, 18" Advantek Rims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 2:36 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Toras wrote:
Disco Frank i thought the WHOLE POINT of the >>> $90 <<< shift kits from shiftkits.com was to piggyback onto the ECU... SO YOU DONT HAVE TO CUT ANY WIRES.

Correct me if i am wrong.


umm NOPE unless tehy have made a new wiring plugh that plugs into the ecu then to the wiring harness with some sort of small wiring plugs to the shift kit

i highly doubt it!

u will need to cut 1 wire from the ecu and solder in 1 wires from the kit to each end of teh cut wire
then u need to "tap" into another wire a 12v+ wire to be exact
the Ecu needs to come out

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

It's a pretty simple job though and the instructions are detailed enough.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 4:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

so are these much better than making your own?

can the 90 bucks be justified over the 5 bucks making your own? being variable sounds good...

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 10:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 695

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: 2008 WQ Fiesta XR4

Location: Adelaide.
SA, Australia

Gaz wrote:
so are these much better than making your own?

can the 90 bucks be justified over the 5 bucks making your own? being variable sounds good...


Depends how enthusiastic you are. I was happy to pay for the finished product and have to join only three wires to my car rather than chase components and build it.

 

_________________

2008 WQ Fiesta XR4
2007 LS Focus CL

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 3:28 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 196

Joined: 3rd Apr 2005

Ride: Nissan Skyline

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Mmm... damn... from the picture they showed on the website it looked like tha box just plugs in (and thats it)...

Oh well. May as well make my own :?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:38 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names