Fordmods Logo

EA 3 speed auto - 4 speed auto 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EA 3 speed auto - 4 speed auto
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1421

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 98 EL Falcon - Last of the EL's

Location: Muswellbrook
NSW, Australia

im considering chucking the 3 speed auto thats in my EA at the moment and replacing it with a 4 speed auto, but a mechenic that ive talked to about it sez its a HUGE job and would cost more then the car to do, has any one done this befor and what would be needed to be done?.

oh and its a 3.9 CFI if it helps any.

cheers.

 

_________________

why are women like clouds? eventually they f**k off and its a really nice day.

telling the truth is just lack of imagination

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 17, 2005 5:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

3 speed wasnt controlled by ECU, 4 speed is,so you would need an 4 speed ECU, to put it simply, be a major job, and worth more than the car.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:22 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

wouldn't be as hard as it seems... the pedal box is the same, the interior is the same, parts are everywhere... so you just need to fit the box, plug in the EA 4Spd Fairmont Ghia ECU, and you're away.


Don't forget to get the wiring loom for the auto, and the cooler, if it has one.

If you need a box, gimme a yell... if its just an experiment that is... I have one, with a broken band. meaning it doesn't have 2 or 4th, it free revs... Ive got everything for it.. so if you wanna experiment with that, it'll be a hell of a lot cheaper. Id want like $40 for everything... or $50 if you're generous lol

Cheers


*EDIT* s**t I FORGOT - you also need a new tailshaft from either an EA 4 Spd, or from an EA manual... don't get one from and EBII they have flanges.

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 8:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

EA had seperate transmission control unit for the 4 speeds

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

madmax wrote:
EA had seperate transmission control unit for the 4 speeds


well, in that case, get a hold of one of those... even easier.

Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:17 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 37

Joined: 3rd Apr 2006

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

its not that easy, im in the process now and i have just found out the the four speed box doesnt line up with the factory 3 speed crossmember bolts. have to drill new holes and put spacers in for the four speed crossmember.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2006 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 3025

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA MKII XR8

Location: Caroline Springs
VIC, Australia

If you're keen on spending cash replacing the tranny, why not opt for a T5.

If performance is a factor, it's possibly the best thing you do to your EA...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names