Fordmods Logo

EA FALCON 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EA FALCON
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:49 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 32

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Ride: mpi ea GL

Location: centralcoast
NSW, Australia

I have seen this in a couple of falcons mainly early girls ea etc, when in d position if you push the accelerator to the floor there is no kick back and the gears change really early, unless you hold the gears with the t-bar. is there a kickdown cable, just wanted some info from other ea-ed owners

 

_________________

another vrs kit please, yes it's an EA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

EA the three speed had a kick down cable but lik the 4 speed are controled computer wise if there is no kick down hmmm does ya power and econmy kick down if not inhibitior switch MAY be rooted if

oh does it run smooth other wise.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:14 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 32

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Ride: mpi ea GL

Location: centralcoast
NSW, Australia

it runs smooth as, just dosent hold gears to redline, in power mode it holds it for another 500 rpm if that, the only way to get it going is to manually hold it , maybe it could be due to never being flogged? old dude owned it before me just want it to be normal i know its not a rocket haha but if you leave it in drive she will change at 3000 rpm.
it's in good nick for an ea really tidy 208k on odo which still works :shock:

 

_________________

another vrs kit please, yes it's an EA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 12:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 1538

Joined: 4th May 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: ef fairmont turbo

Power: 213 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

its got a fair bit of years on it so it wont be in top nik, ild just say that its a tired gear box.
try changing the fluid, see if that helps

 

_________________

96 EF FAIRMONT
Garrett gt40turbo, iceman plenum, ported head, turbo cam, double valvesprings, 023 fuel pump, 36lb injectors 4' cat, 4' dump, 2.5 exhaust, build bottom end, hypertonic pistons rods & rods, king bearings, j3. c10 3500 stall
232rwkw@4psi

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:14 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

3 speed auto EA's have a kick down cable on CPI models dunno bout MPI tho, might need a slight adjust, also check throttle cable. Sometimes they stretch giving the same result.

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 11:45 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 32

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Ride: mpi ea GL

Location: centralcoast
NSW, Australia

Thanks guys yous have been heaps of help :lol:

 

_________________

another vrs kit please, yes it's an EA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

by the sounds of it yours is a 4 speed if your saying it has a power button.. you will find the power button will only give you 500rpm... its a safety thing, you dont want to run your car at 100% as it will be very close to breaking all the time then as the car gets older things are more prone to breaking, so a 6000rpm shift could end up snapping your pistons in your gearbox, so 5500 is normally where mine changes unless as you said you hold it back

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 1:35 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 32

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Ride: mpi ea GL

Location: centralcoast
NSW, Australia

thats the thing if it changed at even 4500 i'd be happy she changes at 3000 thats pinned to the floor. i'm checking to see if the acc cable is streched. will let you's know cheers :lol:

 

_________________

another vrs kit please, yes it's an EA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: so far
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 32

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Ride: mpi ea GL

Location: centralcoast
NSW, Australia

I gave her a service today plugs filters and & oil leads and cap
the throttle cable seems fine, The throttle body had heaps of gunk in it cleaned it with tb cleaner, it runs heaps better a lot more responsive specially mid range, must just be the nature of the car i imagine it been driven really gently it's whole life, then i jump init different drivers, it's funny there are no leaks under the car except a tiny one on the tranny sump, once again thanks for all your advice :lol:

 

_________________

another vrs kit please, yes it's an EA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

id recomend resetting your computer.. disconnect the battery for 20 minutes then re-connect and give it heaps, then it should shift at higher rpm then it did before

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:10 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 306

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 14 images

Ride: Ef XR6, Ef Gli, Ninga ZX9R@!

Location: bathurst
NSW, Australia

The 4 spd autos have a second throttle postion sensor instead of the cable for kickdown. Just see if theres any obvious loose conections if not try another one.

 

_________________

Blast from the past.....
1973 HQ 253 Premier sedan, 1991 EA 3.9lt 30 anniversary sedan
1978 XC 250 Falcon 500 sedan, 1988 EA 3.9lt Fairmont sedan
1994 EF 4lt Gli Wagon 1995 EF 4lt XR6 sedan (now gas~!)
1996 Ef Gli sedan, 1988 GPX 250r, 1999 ZX9R Ninja

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: will do
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:42 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 32

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Ride: mpi ea GL

Location: centralcoast
NSW, Australia

will disconect battery tommorow , while i change rotors and pads got some slotted rda rotors for it hope there okay budget is a bit tight, they didnt last long on the vn, yes i know :shock: it looks kinda funny seeing the vn& my wifes vs then the ea in our drive way i have always had a soft spot for ea's. i dont really care i like both so i am a bi fan of both flags. if anything the falcon is so much more fun to get things for, cheap as sh%t
thats one thing i hate about the other cars, bomadores stuff is so dear,

 

_________________

another vrs kit please, yes it's an EA

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

nothing wrong with RDA slotted rotors, i wish i went slotted over stock... if i got them from ebay i could have saved money over the stock rotors...

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 1:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 123

Joined: 30th Apr 2007

Gallery: 6 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

My ea was sweet i put my foot down and it would kick back with about a
1-2 sec delay and would hold til i let off the accelerator.

remember in the ea there was the electronic 4th gear 4sp and then the standard 4sp.

 

_________________

EF II Falcon Gli 5spd
Cold Air Intake
Genie Extractors
2.5" Cat Back Exhaust
CSA 16" Mags

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i think you mean 3 speed cable driven and electronic 4 speed with the power button

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:59 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names