Fordmods Logo

EBII 4 Speed Auto Issues 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EBII 4 Speed Auto Issues
Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:42 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 20th Mar 2006

Location: Beaudesert
QLD, Australia

Hi guys.
I have been hanging around and reading a few threads since I joined.
I used to own a very nice XE 3.3ltr 5 speed. Body got cancer and got rid of it.
Now I am the proud owner of an EBII Auto Wagon.
I now seem to have a problem with the Auto, hopefully someone can shed some light on it.
The box works fine when it is cold.
When it warms up (running temp) it seems to shift from 1st to what I thought was 2nd very harsh and with a nice clunk. I have since found out that it is shifting straight to 3rd. If you move the shirter while driving into second there seems to be no gear. It also seems to not shift into 4th. I have no tacho so I can't see the revs and work out whether it is actually shifting into top.
This is causing me some grief because I just spent $1000 getting it on the road.
If you have some suggestions please post up and I will be very grateful.

Thanks for reading guys.

Phil

BTW. My nick comes from the fact that I also have a 1981 Factory Turbo Sigma.

 

_________________

Why anyone drives a Commodore when there are Falcons is beyond me.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

sounds like the auto's not too good.
i'm guessing you've checked the oil level?

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2006 8:14 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 20th Mar 2006

Location: Beaudesert
QLD, Australia

Sorry, Of course I did. :lol:

 

_________________

Why anyone drives a Commodore when there are Falcons is beyond me.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:05 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

If you only have 1st and 3rd, it would indicate the B2 band is broken. Usually happens around the 200,000 to 220,00km mark.

Seems to be a typical occurence on the pre ED transmissions, as I've swapped a few of these transmissions for this problem.

'Fraid to say, but may mean it requires a swap or a rebuild.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 2:59 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 20th Mar 2006

Location: Beaudesert
QLD, Australia

Quote:
If you only have 1st and 3rd, it would indicate the B2 band is broken.


Seems fair to me. The only problem is that the box is fine when cold.
If the box is stuffed and I have to replace it so be it. I just want to make sure I don't replace only to find out it was a sensor or something and I still have the problem after fitting another box.

Thanks for the replies so far.

 

_________________

Why anyone drives a Commodore when there are Falcons is beyond me.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 3:45 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

Sigmaphile wrote:
Quote:
If you only have 1st and 3rd, it would indicate the B2 band is broken.


Seems fair to me. The only problem is that the box is fine when cold.
If the box is stuffed and I have to replace it so be it. I just want to make sure I don't replace only to find out it was a sensor or something and I still have the problem after fitting another box.

Thanks for the replies so far.


Mmmm... I misread your first post sorry.

If the band was broken, it wouldnt matter if the box was hot or cold, there would be no 2nd or 4th.

If it happens when its hot, it may be that one of the solenoids is breaking down. I cant remember which one controls that bad, but there is one there. The S5 is usually attributed to harsh shifts, particularly between 1st and 2nd.

It wouldnt be a sensor I wouldnt think, more one of the actuators.

Maybe the control plug is loose or dirty, and when the thing heats up, everything expands and contacts are not made. The plug is on the passenger side of the box, almost smack in the middle. It has about 15 wires coming from it. Pull that and clean up the insides.. Check for any broken or dodgy looking wires.

That cable leads to a similar end in the engine bay. Might be worth while checking the continuity end to end when the loom is hot.

Or someone with an EB manual might be able to tell you the wire colour of appropriate solenoid and you can check to see if its working when the box is hot.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 5:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 20th Mar 2006

Location: Beaudesert
QLD, Australia

Thanks for the reply.
I think I might be under my car on the weekend.
I will see what I can find and let you know how I go.

 

_________________

Why anyone drives a Commodore when there are Falcons is beyond me.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names