Fordmods Logo

Economy mode stopped working - EF Falcon 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Economy mode stopped working - EF Falcon
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 11:56 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 53

Joined: 17th Jun 2005

Ride: AUFalcon Series 1

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

Just brought an EF and on day one I could turn on the Econ switch and it was working fine. That night I tried out the diagnistics mode on the instrument cluster just to have a sticky beak. Next morning I find Econ is not working.

Did I do something to disable it?
Is this purely coincidence, and I have another problem?
What might I look for to rectify this problem?

Thanks
Tony Steward
1995 EF Falcon Sedan Auto

 

_________________

AU1 Falcon 18" wheels, Extractors, 2 1/2 inch system, Ultra Lows Front and Super lows in the Rear, Sun Roof (Pop up), Hawk body kit. Manual gear box.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

First thing i'd being doing is checking that the cable is plugged into the switch.

Pop out your gear shifter surround and at the back of the economy button there should be a cable that goes in to the bottom of the clip - check that first

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 3:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

as ofyagutts said.

but the common thing as well is that it seems plugged in but you plugged it wrongly, the pins not goin into the plug but past it. have a good look when u plug it in ull see what i mean

or your switch is dead?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 5:41 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 53

Joined: 17th Jun 2005

Ride: AUFalcon Series 1

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

I checked switch with multimetre and it is ok. When the misses comes back I will triple check the plug to ensure proper contact.

 

_________________

AU1 Falcon 18" wheels, Extractors, 2 1/2 inch system, Ultra Lows Front and Super lows in the Rear, Sun Roof (Pop up), Hawk body kit. Manual gear box.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 8:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 625

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: R32 GTR

Location: Brackistan
VIC, Australia

Second thing i'd check is that the bulb hasn't blown.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2005 10:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 53

Joined: 17th Jun 2005

Ride: AUFalcon Series 1

Location: Albury
NSW, Australia

Ok it is definantly not the switch, I checked & tested it. I also tried dirctly shorting the two wires together and still nothing on the display.

I haven't checked the globe yet but you can tell by the way the car drives that it is not changing to economy mode.

 

_________________

AU1 Falcon 18" wheels, Extractors, 2 1/2 inch system, Ultra Lows Front and Super lows in the Rear, Sun Roof (Pop up), Hawk body kit. Manual gear box.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2005 3:19 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

For EF's:
ECU pin 29 (grey/black) is connected to the economy switch.
ECU pin 79 (orange/white) is connected to economy indicator lamp in cluster.
The other side of the conomy switch (red wire) goes to earth.

To test, ground ECU pin 29 and the economy lamp should light up.

If it does light up, then your problem is somewhere along the wiring between ECU and the economy switch, the economy switch itself and the wiring on other side of the economy switch to earth :)

If it does not light up, the problem could be within the ecu or along the wiring to the cluster (economy lamp) or the economy lamp itself.

Unfortunately i can't remember if grounding or if applying +12v to ecu pin 79 is needed to light up the economy lamp . To test, i would remove the pin from the connector before grounding (and if that doesn't work then applying +12V) to test the economy lamp (this shouldn't damage the cluster - but it's at your own risk). If doing this does light up the economy lamp, then your problem is within the ECU :( otherwise it's the lamp within the cluster :)

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names