Fordmods Logo

ED stuck in limp mode 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 33 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 4:18 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

ah ok, back to pick a part it is :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:17 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

id think i found the sender but could not be f**k getting to it. but id say the auto is f**k its now just slipping in and out of gears... well what gears it has.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1456

Joined: 17th Apr 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: VY Commodore Wagon Accli

Location: Bannockburn
VIC, Australia

I suggest you take a piccy of what you think it is and paulmac can either say yes or no or it's not in that photo at all or whatever. If you can't get to it then I would suggest you give someone else a try, we have all the tools in the world down here, only problem is I'm near Geelong and your not. Otherwise I would have offered to help.. for a small fee :P :P :P

 

_________________

Pre AU Adapters for sale

Successful Trades with: John_XR6 (John_LS1), Private9, Schmee, Manari, Kyle_Bardell, Greenhorn (Boostedfalcon.net), FTG AUTO SALVAGE, EVL098, Gogetta, EFIII, Krytox, Blue, Smik-EL, TP351.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:33 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

i would like to try and find another possible problem before i change the auto. but first, is the sender something that would log a code on the computer? because there is no codes in the computer. thats why the guy to took it to said it's prob the cluch backing. any way can some one please give a list of what could make the auto stuff up that would NOT show up on a diagnostic. eg, cluster ( If that could affect it), Trip computer (reads instant fuel consumption as 99 at a stand still) and sender.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:47 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 21

Joined: 6th Dec 2007

Location: Queanbeyan
NSW, Australia

Probably not any help but my mate had a similar thing when he put a head deck in and crossed a wire from the tranny... good luck.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 8:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

The sender on my EB2, didn't log any fault codes either but it was malfunctioning. 10-15 mins to replace.
Mac

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

Seb wrote:
Probably not any help but my mate had a similar thing when he put a head deck in and crossed a wire from the tranny... good luck.
you could not be more wrong that is the best info so far!!! becuase my mate and his old man think they may have done something while changing the head unit. how did you fix it?

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

well while my engine is half dismantled i may as well have a good try at getting it out tomorrow.

cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:55 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

By the look (and smell) of the oil in the auto it has seen better days. here as a bit of metal shavings in the oil, called my holden mechanic :D he said that is normal, just give it a service. so i am gunna do that now. and paul is this the sender you are talking about?

Image

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 56

Posts: 235

Joined: 10th Feb 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6,ED Wagon,EA Sedans,XF Ghi

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Our EA would only drive in 1st & 2nd & would not change!
Turned out to be a bad earth lead from motor!
Could it be that easy???

 

_________________

"When Cars Were Steel"
"Cars Were Real"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 8:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 657

Joined: 24th Sep 2007

Gallery: 10 images

Location: Central Coast
NSW, Australia

That looks like it. 8mm spanner and a slender hand is required. Or drop the box a little to get at it.
Cheers,
Mac

 

_________________

What goes around, comes around.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:52 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

Paulmac wrote:
slender hand is required.


Yeah tried to get on out at pick a part. this is gunna be hard with my hands. :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:02 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

changed the sender still not working, no codes so i think it is time to cut my losses and change the auto.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 1323

Joined: 12th Nov 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: 02 xls ute 347

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

oi man i might try this with mine did you end up getin it out with out dropping the box and did you use a second hand sender or new?
if it was new how much was it

 

_________________

02 series 3 AU marline ute 5speed 347 stroker

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 354

Joined: 11th Dec 2007

Ride: ED Futura Classic & EF Futura SW

Location: Scummers
VIC, Australia

yeah i got it out with out dropping box. c**t of a job. its held in with one 8mm bolt. unplug the wires and pull em over the same side of the box as the sender and then unbolt and pull sender out. i got it used (prob cant get en new) and paid $20 for it.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:41 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names