Fordmods Logo

EL Auto Not Shifting 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL Auto Not Shifting
Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:26 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Sep 2006

Location: Orange
NSW, Australia

Hi guys.
I have just replaced the auto in my EL.The original one would not hold 4th - it would change back to 3rd as soon as any power was applied. I was told by the local auto place the the entire trans needed rebuilding, so I decided to get one 2nd hand from the wreckers.
I have now fitted the second hand box and it only has 1st and reverse.
I have made sure there is enough fluid and the right type.
All the wire connections at the trans are done, but I also have no speedo.
Does this sound like something easy to fix or am I going to spend next weekend changing another box?

Thanks
Andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

Looks like next weekend you might be doing it all over again...have you thought about a manuel conversion

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:15 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Sep 2006

Location: Orange
NSW, Australia

I thought about putting a 5 speed out of an XF in it - I have one sitting out the back. I would still have to get an adaptor plate for that and the extra pedal etc for the EL.
I hate changing gearboxes :evil: ^%#@(*! wreckers.

Thanks
Andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sounds like you "inhibitor switch" is knackered.....mine done it to, for the life of me coudlnt figure it out, drove home sittin on about 2k revs and a total of about 50km\h.

The inhibitor switch controls the shifts I beleive. But it fixed mine when I put an AU switch in it. They are exactly the same. Or your wires to the switch are loose.

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 7:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Sep 2006

Location: Orange
NSW, Australia

Not sure which one the inhibitor switch is :oops: , but I talked to a bloke I know at an auto place today. He thinks it is because of the speedo not working. I am going to switch the speedo drive with the old one (which worked) and see how it goes then. Apparently the ECU goes by what speed you are doing to upshift :?

Andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 18, 2006 7:51 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 313

Joined: 9th Jan 2006

Ride: EF2 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Eltham
VIC, Australia

Quote:
Apparently the ECU goes by what speed you are doing to upshift


thats right

 

_________________

Cobra Motorsports

1996 EF2 Fairmont Ghia For Sale

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names