Fordmods Logo

help! brake lights dont work. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: help! brake lights dont work.
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 2:45 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

97 EL Fairmont Ghia. All three brake lights aren't working. I checked the bulbs, i put a multimeter across the sensor on the pedal which shows connectivity when the pedal is pushed so i dont think that is it. i put the multimeter on the connector that goes on the brake light sensor, it shows connectivity. The fuse is ok, im running out of ideas?

Anyone help please!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 4:28 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 124

Joined: 2nd Apr 2005

Ride: Fairmont

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Brake light switch - its located on the brake pedal and is a very very common occurance. Ford charge $20-something but you can buy them from anywhere. I'm on my third one in 6 years..

 

_________________

V8 Windsor here we come.....

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 4:44 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 47

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah thats what i thought, but it seems to work. when i put the multimeter across it, it shows no connectivity until u put ur put on the brake and then it does.

now just checking, if it touch the two wires together on the connector that goes onto the brake light switch, the brake lights should come on right? cos all that brake light switch is doin is completing the circuit? cos it dont. Where does the brake light system actually get its power from?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 756

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: 1999 AU futura

Location: griffith
NSW, Australia

Yep it is a brake ligh switch.Can test it by using a split pin.Disconnect the brake switch connector bridge the connector if your lights work well there you go.Replace numerous amounts.I have replaced mine twice now in 2years.

 

_________________

COMING SOON,XD WITH A TURBO...CLEVO STYLE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 756

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: 1999 AU futura

Location: griffith
NSW, Australia

Yep it is a brake light switch.Can test it by using a split pin.Disconnect the brake switch connector bridge the connector if your lights work well there you go.Replace numerous amounts.I have replaced mine twice now in 2years.

 

_________________

COMING SOON,XD WITH A TURBO...CLEVO STYLE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:00 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 64

Joined: 7th Sep 2005

Ride: 96 EFII Futura Stock as a

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yep, mine just went after 10 years. Bought new from Jefferson ford in sth melb for $40!!! The new one is FAR s**t quality than the old one, you can bend it very easily with your hands whereas the old one is more solid. Brake lights work now, although I was shocked at the price when reading on here people said they paid $20 for one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

they rapidly seem to be going up in price
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 12:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names