Fordmods Logo

Help needed quick!!! CRUISE CONTROL 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Help needed quick!!! CRUISE CONTROL
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

Help someone, my EF futura's cruise control has just stopped workin all of a sudden. When i push the button cruise comes up on the dash but it does not hold the engine at that. it just doesnt do it at all. cant be the buttons can it?

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm not sure, but i think I've seen other posts saying it might be the brake switch or the brake lights. I'm not entirely sure about this. But wait for others to reply as well.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Is your cruise control cable broken??

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 3:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Just out of curiosity, as I'm sure others wanna know... what is so urgent about cruise control? Use your right foot...?

As far as your cruise control is concerned, you can run a diagnostic magiggy on it... but sometimes the module fails, sometimes the speed sensor fails, other times it's other faults stopping it from holding throttle. Sometimes it's more mechanical (as mentioned above) it's the actual throttle cable braking/fraying/melting..

But I'm definitely more interested in why this is so urgent?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:05 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

asizzy wrote:
Is your cruise control cable broken??


the black plastic arond it has peeled back abit but the steel part looks fine to me, not freyed or anything

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:06 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 262

Joined: 15th Aug 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Au fairmont seires I

Location: Sunshine coast
QLD, Australia

justfordima wrote:
Just out of curiosity, as I'm sure others wanna know... what is so urgent about cruise control? Use your right foot...?

As far as your cruise control is concerned, you can run a diagnostic magiggy on it... but sometimes the module fails, sometimes the speed sensor fails, other times it's other faults stopping it from holding throttle. Sometimes it's more mechanical (as mentioned above) it's the actual throttle cable braking/fraying/melting..

But I'm definitely more interested in why this is so urgent?


Cheers


its urgent cause i drive 120 kms every day to work and i get tired of driving without cruise control.

 

_________________

People hate the au series but i wouldnt have it any other way!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

... fair enough. Just seemed like it was something catastrophic, maybe it's just how I read it.

Anyway - check out here http://www.fordmods.com/forums/Cruise-Control-d11.html


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Brake lights
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 404

Joined: 4th May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Location: Noosa
QLD, Australia

I would almost be willing to put money on it being your BRAKE LIGHTS!!!

Same thing happened to me about 6 months ago.

Check them then get back to us!!!

 

_________________

99 AU Fairlane Ghia V8 Black Leather, 19" ANZ 5+5's with 245/35 rubber
Full sound system. Extractors, Dual 2.25" exhaust.
Lowered on Tickford XR8 springs and shocks!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

If your brake lights are working, then it may be the second brake sensor on the master cylinder.

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 20

Joined: 15th Dec 2004

Ride: EF Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Mine stopped working a while a go as well. Whilst looking at a vacuum leak I changed the vacuum line to the fuel pressure regulator. Not only did I get cruise control back but A/C as well.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 10:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check the electrical connection to the actuator, mine was all gummed up with this greeny mould looking s**t.

a quick clean with electrical contact cleaner an old tooth brush and compressed air to blow out all of the left over s**t restored proper electrical contact and wala cruise works again

hope this helps

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 10:33 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th May 2008

Location: Kununurra
WA, Australia

thats extremely interesting... my break lights dont work and they stopped working about the time my cruise control packed it in... What will be the fix for it? is it the brake solinoid under the brake pedal? cheers guys

Btw i got a BA XR6

cheers

Jamin

 

_________________

-- Built Not Bought --

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 10:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1434

Joined: 14th Jul 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Falcon EF Gli

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

If your brake lights don't work is ti that the bulbs are blown? Replace it if it is.

 

_________________

AsIzZy

My Build Thread:
post994940.html#p994940

For Sale Thread 1
forums/viewtopic.php?t=70845&highlight=

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:04 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th May 2008

Location: Kununurra
WA, Australia

i find it highly unlikely that both brake light globes would blow at the exact same time... im pretty sure it is the brake switch underneath the pedal, i just want to know if that has anything to do with the cruise control not working

Jay

 

_________________

-- Built Not Bought --

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:10 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 212

Joined: 11th Jan 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: BF Fairlane Ghia, BA XR8 Ute

Location: Dandenong
VIC, Australia

my guess would be

1. Check the cruise cable
2. Test it with a different cruise module, because as stated in the earlier posts these things screw up over time.

 

_________________

The Luxo Cruiser - 07 BF Fairlane
Silhouette,Pedders CoilOvers, Whiteline Adjustable Swaybars, BluePower Tune and Airbox, DiFillipo Headers and Cat with Catback, FPV Brake Upgrade, G6ET Wheels

The New daily/Toy - 2004 BA XR8 Ute
Mercury Silver, 5 Speed Manual, a factory Blownup Boss 260 :P

Last edited by KyleBardell on Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:15 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names