Fordmods Logo

Info needed: AU to AUII brake upgrade 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Info needed: AU to AUII brake upgrade
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 6:11 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

Guys,

the old man has purchased a AUI Fairmont GHIA VCT.

Anyway the brakes are woeful. has anyone upgraded the AUI to AUII brakes?

Im guessing a new upright, lower control arm and a few other things would need replacing.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Yes, the stub axle assembly is different, as is the brake master cyl.
and you'll need the brake hoses too, for the calipers, plus the rotors are thicker, front & rear. The rear calipers are also different.
I don't know if the brake booster is different or not.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 244

Joined: 29th Oct 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

you wouldn't need the lower control arm but what cjh said sounds right. I cant imagine the booster being different and would have thought the master cylinder would be the same.

But yeah - definately rotors, upright and calipers!

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 06, 2007 8:46 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

new lower control arms
new calipers
new rotors
new sway bar
new hoses

and new master cylinder are what is needed

iirc aufalcon.com has the mod


http://www.aufalcon.com/cgi-bin/index.c ... ocs/brakes

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 2:26 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 244

Joined: 29th Oct 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

whats the difference with the lower control arms?

Only difference i can think of, is the sway bar mount is different - meaning if you got a new arm, you would also need a new swaybar and link pin.

Waste of money i think - just keep your original arm
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:26 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

would something like this work for an e-series?

on my fathers AU Ghia, we just wacked on a set of DBA's made a big differance.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:59 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

xf_xr6 wrote:
whats the difference with the lower control arms?

Only difference i can think of, is the sway bar mount is different - meaning if you got a new arm, you would also need a new swaybar and link pin.

Waste of money i think - just keep your original arm


u need the new sway bar as the calipers hit the old sway bar
hence new sway bar and lower control arm

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

rushed wrote:
would something like this work for an e-series?

on my fathers AU Ghia, we just wacked on a set of DBA's made a big differance.


YES! I too would like to know if it's possible to upgrade the brakes on an 'E' series to the AUII or AUIII setups :shock: .
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Disco Frank wrote:
xf_xr6 wrote:
whats the difference with the lower control arms?

Only difference i can think of, is the sway bar mount is different - meaning if you got a new arm, you would also need a new swaybar and link pin.

Waste of money i think - just keep your original arm


u need the new sway bar as the calipers hit the old sway bar
hence new sway bar and lower control arm


The sway bar mounts alot lower too, so there are brackets for them that mount on the chassis rail.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names