manual conversion costs 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

Post subject: manual conversion costs
Posted: Tue May 03, 2005 11:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: ef falcon

WA, Australia

ive heard alot of happy people doin conversions and was wondering wat is needed to do the swap and wat i should look at paying for it at a wreckers???? can parts be taken from differant models if wreakers dont have my specific model (ef falcon) im an apprentas mechanic so i have access to a werkshop and all the tools but im not guna start pulling stuff out and find i need sumthing else because the is my everyday car and carnt afford to have it off the road....
thanks heaps if u can help with any part....

stage2cam,lukeyheaders,highflowcat2 1/2, 2 1/2 exhaust 3 hotdogs, 17x235/45 17x255/40's

Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 2:07 am 
Technical Contributor

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

NSW, Australia

Definately a worthwhile mod! you'll love it, and doing it.

firstly check this out, and have it handy.. http://www.ford-tech.com/articles.php?articleId=47

You'll need the T5, with the bellhousing, the T5's were the same basically.. differences were the ratio was shorter I think on the EA's then on the EBII's+, and the EBII's onwards had reverse synchro. So any T5, with bellhousing. The pedal box will need to be an EF/EL one, We made an EA one fit an EL, but I don't wanna do that ever again, lol.. just get an EF/EL manual pedal box... shouldn't cost too much. You'll need the clutch assembly,clutch assembly bolts, clutch cable, flywheel. You'll need Dextron III for the fluid, or Penzoil whichever tickles your fancy. You'll need a gear knob, with the surround for the stick (get the GT ones, its leather.. very nice). You'll need the manual surround on the centre console... um, oh don't forget the wiring harness.