Fordmods Logo

manual conversion help 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: manual conversion help
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 9:57 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 67

Joined: 23rd Feb 2007

Ride: el

Location: narre warren
VIC, Australia

almost finished my manual conversion but cant get the gearbox onto the
bellhousing right there is like a 10mm gap
i used a clutch alignment tool when i put the clutch in
i had a look inside the bellhousing but cant see anything tha would stop the box going in
has anyone else had this problem before
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:58 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Just keep wiggling and pushing, may even help to put it in gear and slap in the tailshaft yolk this way you can turn it a little.

But 10mm tells me the spline is in, but spigot is fouling.

I've never had any problems with T5's going into position, maybe cos I use a spare input shaft to set it up. You have to remember the clutch plate will drop a bit when you use any tool, I always lift it a little as i tighten the plate up.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 554

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef 5 speed

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i agrree with the last guy wiggle it and put it into gear and then get some one to turn the shaft from the back

 

_________________

i am in need of a new front bar or good condation secondhand for a 95 ef futra,
lsd for a for ef ,modifed au sump to go in and ef , working air con compressor

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 10:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 67

Joined: 23rd Feb 2007

Ride: el

Location: narre warren
VIC, Australia

got the box in and the car goes heaps beter
only problem now is when i went to plug in the manual loom
i could not thin the rectangular plug in the engine bay
a mates ef hase it but all that we could find in mine was this square box looking thing with a bolt through the middle and its got like 50 wires going to it
has any body else noticed this or am i looking at the wrong plug
its got that el hybrid engine in it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 2:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

IIRC EL's did not have seperate plugs that suited manual and auto, just the one larger plug.

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yup EL's dont have the connector. You will have to ground the start inhibit relay thing (sounds like you already have done) and wire in the reverse lights. I just taped all the spare connectors for the auto up out of the way. you might want to wire in the neutral switch too but i never bothered.

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

neutral switch what's the go with wireing this switch in what purpose does it serve

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

means the car wont turn over unless the clutch is engaged. i didnt worry about it, it means i can move the car off the starter if needed, or run into others when starting the car in gear when not paying attention haha

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 67

Joined: 23rd Feb 2007

Ride: el

Location: narre warren
VIC, Australia

yea i got it running and everything
just didnt know that els did not have seperate plugs to the gearbox
thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:33 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names