New to lowering. Help! 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: New to lowering. Help!
Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: ED GLi Classic

VIC, Australia

Hey guys.

I've searched around the site but can't seem to find what I am after.

I bought a set of 18" BA XR8 rims, and am wondering what needs to be done to lower to super lows.

The rims are 8 inch wide, and I want to lower it to superlows. Can people tell me what needs to be done? Guard rolling, camber kits, etc, etc.

I am new to this sort of stuff. Help!

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:49 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: XH B&S ute, Navara 4x4

Power: 202 rwkw

SA, Australia

Can't imagine you will have problems with the lips.
My ba was super ultra mega low esp on the rear (plod said too low :evil: ) rolling on 19*8s with 245.35 tyres and scrubbing on guards wasn't an issue.
Just be careful how low you go cos the measurements the gestapo have got don't give you much to play with. It's something like 3 to 10mm lower than standard unladen xr and you are illegally low in the book that matters. [/b]

You'll ride a black tornado across the western sky

You'll rope an ol' blue norther and milk it 'till it's dry

Bulldog the Diamantina pin its ears down flat

Long before you take this cowboy's hat

Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 1:06 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 23 images

Ride: XR6 Turbo

NSW, Australia

I just rolled my Gaurds and put ultra lows on, didnt need a camber kit.

SS Inductions CAI, K&N Filters, M-spec FMC, Turbosmart BOV, 8psi capa tune, X-force cat.

Mods going on: Nizpro springs, bosch 040 pump + Walbro gss341, 600cc injectors, PWR transcooler, 20% Underdrives, 15psi Actuator, Kingspring SSL's, 15psi tune.....More coming

Posted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 2:28 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.