Fordmods Logo

powersteer on ef keeps leaking at switch on 3rd switch in 3 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: powersteer on ef keeps leaking at switch on 3rd switch in 3
Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 10:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

the little pressure switch ( thats what i gather it is ) on ef at bottom of steer ncolumn keeps on leaking oil out of the electrical side of it , ive changed switches a few times , and only last a few weeks before that one leaks , is there another problem that may be causing this like too much pressure or something
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 12:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

hey! howz it going,are you talking about the power steering pressure switch on the bottom of the steering rack? If so could be a pressure problem or a problem with the rack its self,mite need to change the steering rack!

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 8:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Common problem for them to leak , not common to go again so quickly, are you getting new ones or second hand? If new then it must be too much pressure in the system.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

i must admit they were 2nd hand , ill give another a ago and hope that lasts as i dont want to change other stuff
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

You can get by without it. Just need to plug the hole.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

whats it do exactly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Bumps up idle when power steering pressure gets low, like on hard lock at no throttle, parking and s**t.
Mine was blocked up in the ED for ages, and it was cammed.
Never stalled.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

looks like thats what im doing then
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: power steering switch
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 404

Joined: 8th Jun 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey Steady, mine leaks too, I havnt taken it off yet. It looks like a spanner could fit behind the switch to undo it, is this correct? Do you just block it with a bolt and sealant tape? Are you sure that is all the wires do? Thanks for help.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2006 9:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 427

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: xd fairmont

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

i had to modify a spanner to get mine out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:00 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I used a shifter on mine, then blanked it off with a gas fitting of some sort that I found in my garage(its that sort of thread).
Yeah I just used teflon tape on it, didn't leak at all.
I'm 99% sure that's all it does, signal to the ECU when PS pressure becomes low so it can bump up idle.
Mine never stalled, but even if it does, better stalling then spraying powersteering fluid onto your cat and/or extractors IMO.
The plastic sensor housing is s**t.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 2:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 988

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: el faimont, dual fuel

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

this is all they do, bump up idle when under load like steady said.
we had the same problem with the au2 cab, switch leaked every 3-4 weeks, we ended up gutting an old switch and putting a srew into it and then bolting it back up, the wire is just cable tied out of the way. has been 400,000k's with no problems.

we use an flat spanner the ones you get with boxed bikes, which has been bent at a right angle half way down.

 

_________________

why do u write in here.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:35 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

are u changing the O ring thats in the rack?

get a new switch and new O ring and use that it will not leak

my guess is that the O ring is fooked

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 3:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 404

Joined: 8th Jun 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey msman, What do you mean by putting a screw in it. Does it have an internal thread which can be blocked? or how exactly did you do it? And when the switch is out I suppose it leaks all the reservoir fluid, so will I have to have a modified one ready for changeover? Thanks for advice
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2006 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 988

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: el faimont, dual fuel

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

it has small hole if you gut an old switch, then we just used a self tapping screw, removed it to clean out any metal pieces and also to put an oring in between srew head and the switch.

we normally just syphon out the fluid from the reservoir before removing switch.

 

_________________

why do u write in here.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 1:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names