Fordmods Logo

Removing ABS 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Removing ABS
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 863

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: XH Ute / AU3 V8 Wagon

Location: Bris-Vegas
QLD, Australia

Hi All.
I am doing a complete driveline switch from ED sedan into my 90 EA wagon. I am using EVERTHING from the ED, engine/trans/dash/steering column/harness/ECU/fuel lines, etc. My drama is the ED has ABS, and obviously the EA doesnt. I dont want it, too much pissing around, etc. Can i just not connect the extra ABS parts of the loom, or do i need to physically remove it? Can the extra bits just be snipped off, or will that cause more problems? Has anyone done this, I dont want more problems than I am already having.
Also, do i need to da anything about smartlock, or will fitting everything from the ED solve that issue? :D

 

_________________

Yes, I own a Ute. No, I won't help you move!

EL Wagon Build Thread http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/sooty72-s-ef-futura-wagon-long-term-project-t90025.html
XH Ute Thread http://www.fordmods.com/post1138970.html#p1138970

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

Don't Quote me on this but i am sure the brakel lines in and around the engine bay the booster and cylinder, abs module, the abs sensors and loom i am thinking that is it i can't recall but a similiar queastion was posted months ago.

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 863

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: XH Ute / AU3 V8 Wagon

Location: Bris-Vegas
QLD, Australia

Yeah, I located all the lines, loom, ecu etc. I just want to know if i can delete it all.
I did a search, but couldn't find what i need to know. :D

 

_________________

Yes, I own a Ute. No, I won't help you move!

EL Wagon Build Thread http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/sooty72-s-ef-futura-wagon-long-term-project-t90025.html
XH Ute Thread http://www.fordmods.com/post1138970.html#p1138970

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

sooty72 wrote:
Yeah, I located all the lines, loom, ecu etc. I just want to know if i can delete it all.
I did a search, but couldn't find what i need to know. :D


oh sorry mate just read it lol... yeah don't bother with it and get a non ABS ecu no dramas. or just run the EA ECU..

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 863

Joined: 26th Nov 2007

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: XH Ute / AU3 V8 Wagon

Location: Bris-Vegas
QLD, Australia

I cant run the EA ecu, it is a CFI car originally.
I was hoping to find out if I can use the ED ECU, and just not connect the ABS. The ABS has it's own ECU, behind the RH side of the dash, directly behind the brake booster.

 

_________________

Yes, I own a Ute. No, I won't help you move!

EL Wagon Build Thread http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/sooty72-s-ef-futura-wagon-long-term-project-t90025.html
XH Ute Thread http://www.fordmods.com/post1138970.html#p1138970

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 6746

Joined: 13th Mar 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: NCII Fairlane

Location: Bathurst
NSW, Australia

sooty72 wrote:
I cant run the EA ecu, it is a CFI car originally.
I was hoping to find out if I can use the ED ECU, and just not connect the ABS. The ABS has it's own ECU, behind the RH side of the dash, directly behind the brake booster.


well there it whould be fine and dandy what about the whole smartlock issue or are you swapping smartlock aswell

 

_________________

R.I.P Tobias my son.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 11:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 42

Posts: 1343

Joined: 14th Dec 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL fairmont offroader

Location: seaspray
VIC, Australia

I have an ABS EBII and a non-ABS EBII. From memory the ABS one has two fixed lines to the master cylinder, and the non-ABS one has three.

The ABS one is a wreck, and doesn't have smartlock. I wasn't planning on selling anything off it, but if you need the ECU i might be able to help. I imagine you could fit the ED ECU with a smartlock bypass, if the trans are the same type.

 

_________________

wrecking 9/97 EL fairmont sedan burgundy 6cyl auto 270k modBAintake

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:01 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names