Fordmods Logo

Replaced transmission but still have issues 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Replaced transmission but still have issues
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Ok, got another transmission in (another secondhandy from wreckers)

Seems fine compared to my old one going for a test drive (OOPS i mean thrash) tommorow on the way home tonight it seems that manual selection of gears (with 3-2-1) STILL doesnt work (acts same as drive), so im thinking there may be a wiring issue OR the other one is that when i had some exhaust work done TWO places welded on my car without disconnection the battery, could this have upset my ECU and be causing it to overide manual selection?

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 12:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

have you checked the gear position sensor, it should read as follows:

P-approx 4.0volts
R-approx 3.5volts
N-approx 3.0volts
D-approx 2.5volts
3-approx 2.0volts
2-approx 1.5volts
1-approx 1.0volts

If no volts are present check for blown fuse ( AUTO TX in fuse compartment 15 amp)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 12:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2833

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Lincoln LS, MKII Escort, ED

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

ok, where can i tap into the gear position sensor?, ill check the fuse first anyway, i hope its that simple!

 

_________________

Because i can.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 1:24 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

there will be 4 wires into the sensor i think from memory its a red wire that u read to chassis. if u have multi meters which u need for this test make sure the probe is sharp to pierce the insulation. i have a pic but not sure how to post on here .
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:20 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names