Fordmods Logo

Replacing Brake Pads and Disks. 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Post subject: Replacing Brake Pads and Disks.
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 5:50 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: fairmont

VIC, Australia

Just looking for some information about replacing the disks on an EF Fairmont. I have never done it before so It'd be great if I could have some info about how to remove the disks.
Cheers

Post subject: Re: Replacing Brake Pads and Disks.
Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

QLD, Australia

ashcook wrote:
Its not a hard job but maybe one that a workshop manual might be handy to work you through it for a first timer. Especially when it comes to the bearings and bleeding the brakes.

Manuals are around $40 from places like supercheap if not, your local library may have one you can borrow

Like what he said ^^^^^^^^^^^...get a manual, read it, understand it, then do it.
Things to watch out for, blocked bleeder nipples, busted/torn caliper slide boots, seized caliper slide pins......do NOT use grease or anti-seize compound on the slides, it makes the boots swell up and lets in dirt and water. Use a silicone type grease ( 100% water proof ) and won't hurt the rubber boots.
Apply a thin film of Greymaxx/Ultra Grey to the underside of the pad shims for the front disc pads.
This helps with sqeaky brakes.

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 7:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

VIC, Australia

not a hard job, you will need grease to re do bearings, pointy pliers, and a small g clamp

bleeding the system would be good too. theres a procedure for that here somewhere

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:48 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: fairmont

VIC, Australia