Fordmods Logo

speedo correction advice 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: speedo correction advice
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:19 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 14

Joined: 3rd Jul 2011

Ride: Ford Au II Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

howdy hoes
ok well im getting my hands on a reco'd lsd and 3:89 gears to suit,
its all going in an auto 6cyl au fairmont, origonaly live axle single spinner 3:23
now the question is do i need a speedo corrector (jaycar or shiftkits) between the speedo sensor in the gearbox and the cluster to correct the -20% speed difference
and
also another speedo corrector between the cluster and the speedo input into the ecu to correct the shift pattern to prevent over reving?

would love to know which pin the speedo input is to :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speedo correction advice
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

in the tech pages you will find AU cluster pinout info that you need to tap into

you can correct the speedo AND fix the shift points with one corrector

intercept the cluster input signal with the corrector as normal

then find the cluster speedo output wire, cut it, and run the loom side of it back to the original connection you made with the speedo corrector so that it will see the speedo signal before its tampered with
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speedo correction advice
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 14

Joined: 3rd Jul 2011

Ride: Ford Au II Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Cheers found the pinouts, rhs plug. 17 in 18 out
Haa sweet sounds easy as
The corrector will need power and ground right?
Pin 1 (power ground), pin 4 (ignition power)?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: speedo correction advice
Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

Smooch wrote:
Cheers found the pinouts, rhs plug. 17 in 18 out
Haa sweet sounds easy as
The corrector will need power and ground right?
Pin 1 (power ground), pin 4 (ignition power)?


i just tapped into the ciggarette lighter wires in my old EF............. you could do that in the AU, just make sure the AU doesnt have some weird 1hr delay power turn off (like the CD player) or the speedo corrector could drain your battery, as i found out when i first tried tapping power from the trip computer :roll:

edit: heres a dodgy diagram i did awhile ago. Note the brown wire is the SPEEDO OUTPUT WIRE FROM THE CLUSTER which you cut, then tap the loom side back into the original connection. This brings the shifts back to normal

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names