Fordmods Logo

Speedo Gears - Auto -> Manual 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Speedo Gears - Auto -> Manual
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

Just wondering, will the speedo drive gear out of a 95 EF BTR Auto fit into an EA T5 box or do I have to get a new gear??

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

it will fit.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

f**k dude, you could write a book on the e series, you know so much. Fess up, you built the EA->EL falcons didn't you, and Ford bought the design off you! :)

thanks mate!

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hehe - i wish

when I did my 5 speed conversion the gearbox came bare so I stuck the btr speedo setup in and its been going fine for 2 years :)

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

since you seem to know everything, ill ask another question ;)

are all the wiring plugs the same? IE will my auto loom plug up to the EA T5 no probs?

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

while we are askin manual related Q's.

as above, but with ef/el t5.


so that means, the box wont influence the speedo reading? as long as you have the corrisponding speedo gear to diff, eg, 3.08 diff, and auto, change to manual, just put the gear out of the auto in the manual and its sweet?


how long would a workshop take to fit a manual? say i did pedals etc (just mal wood clutch pin im lazy) etc, drove it to workshop as an auto, just got them to swap the box over for me? probably woudnt take more than 2 hrs on a hoist?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 7:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

fitting a manual box is probably a 1/2 day job. The speedo is measured on the output shaft so the type of gearbox doesnt matter, just what happens after it (i.e. the diff and wheel size).

As for the looms, you will need a manual gearbox loom. At the back of the firewall there will be two plugs that lead to the gearbox, one round and one rectangle. The auto loom uses both

auto loom:
Image Image

unplug it, and plug the manual loom in. It will only use the rectangular plug leaving the round one free.
Image

Then just plug the other end into the gearbox
Image

I also swapped a few pins over so the car wouldnt start in gear but you dont need to do that.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ah great, so there isnt any different wiring that needs to be custom done?

that makes all reverse lights etc work straight out?

would just need to do the resistor mod if using the auto ecu i guess?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

hey stocko, thanks for that.

just quickly, if i have the EA manual loom, will that still plug straight into my rectangle EF plug?

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

doesnt matter, just found a picture of an EA loom and it looks as if its a fit.

Sweet, thanks for all your help stockstandard, cheers

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

mrnasty wrote:
doesnt matter, just found a picture of an EA loom and it looks as if its a fit.

Sweet, thanks for all your help stockstandard, cheers


just check that the rectangular plug can take 8 pins. I have heard (but not seen) that EA and EB1 falcons are 6 pin plugs and eb2 onwards are 8.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

sweet, thx again

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ill just keep askin away here isnted of making a new thead.

ringing all over perth gets me cranky, specially when most hang up in 15 seconds, or quote you $2200 for a conversion.

only 1 place had parts.

i only asked for clutch and f/w.. probably should asked more lol.

anyway, they said it still in the wreck (ED) with lowish k's. (he said from memory 170,000)

he said $600 for the flywheel and box.

now, what out of an ED could i use?
box is same yes?
is the loom the same? (and the harness posed just up)
pedal box? (altho i was just going to use a malwood pin, cause im lazy.
pedals are the same? (he cant change that much for those i hope)

guessing a new clutch would be the good idea, new clutch cable to?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 10:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 2256

Joined: 5th May 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: 5 Star Boxcar

Location: blu mtns
NSW, Australia

um im pretty sure the loom is the same gaz, might want to check on that though, pedal box off the ED can be made to fit but who the hell wants to attack it with a grinder? box is the same, ive got an EL box in my ED. and yes its probably a good idea to go with a new clutch and clutch cable

 

_________________

Kezz's 5sp Box Car ---> RPD enhanced with a bunch of other stuff

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names