Fordmods Logo

SSPS steering into older E-series 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: SSPS steering into older E-series
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

I would like to fit the SSPS (speed sensitive power steering) into my NC

I currently have the DL ECU to run it.

in about 2 weeks i will be buying a EL with minor front damage from the auctions, the EL is a 6

I would like to know, would there be any issues fitting the windsor to the I6 K frame?? (i am assuming i can use my 5L engine mounts on the I6 k frame)

Also, will i be able to remove the switch from the I6 rack, put a bolt in the hole and use it with the V8? (i am also assuming i will have to use my original 5L power steering lines + hoses.

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

bump

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 8:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Im not sure about the lines, but YES u can just put a bolt in that hole to plug it up. Just make sure u got a decent quality oring in there. Thats the easiest way to run a v8.

But I thought u were running ssps? in which case you need the wires???

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 8:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Its alot of work. The K frames will interchange, and its a good move, with better lower control arm compliance.
EF/L V8 engine mounts are different to earleir E series, so you will have to get new mounts. Power steer lines on V8 f/L are different too, but should be easily obtainable.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 11791

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Holden VF Calais / NL FBT

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

The actual rack has to be from a ssps fitted vehicle which im assuming you have
Ill find out about k frame

 

_________________

Nicko

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 10:48 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

hellbent_ef wrote:
Im not sure about the lines, but YES u can just put a bolt in that hole to plug it up. Just make sure u got a decent quality oring in there. Thats the easiest way to run a v8.

But I thought u were running ssps? in which case you need the wires???


Cheers for that info, and i am not running SSPS but would love to, running wires for it is the least of my worries as i already have a ECU to control it

Neo_nick wrote:
The actual rack has to be from a ssps fitted vehicle which im assuming you have
Ill find out about k frame


I know where to get my hands on a SSPS rack. Thanks for helping me find out info about the K frame to, i've asked before if the I6 were the same as V8 before but couldn't get a definative answer.

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 11:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

fordzatmyplace wrote:
hellbent_ef wrote:
Im not sure about the lines, but YES u can just put a bolt in that hole to plug it up. Just make sure u got a decent quality oring in there. Thats the easiest way to run a v8.

But I thought u were running ssps? in which case you need the wires???


Cheers for that info, and i am not running SSPS but would love to, running wires for it is the least of my worries as i already have a ECU to control it


Yeah but your asking about pluggin up the switch hole? that to me says normal steering rack from any 6. If your going to put a SSPS rack in, you need the massive switch they run, otherwise it wont be SSPS, just a normal rack with an oversized pinion.

So your asking the one question for 2 separate things.

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

hellbent_ef wrote:
fordzatmyplace wrote:
hellbent_ef wrote:
Im not sure about the lines, but YES u can just put a bolt in that hole to plug it up. Just make sure u got a decent quality oring in there. Thats the easiest way to run a v8.

But I thought u were running ssps? in which case you need the wires???


Cheers for that info, and i am not running SSPS but would love to, running wires for it is the least of my worries as i already have a ECU to control it


Yeah but your asking about pluggin up the switch hole? that to me says normal steering rack from any 6. If your going to put a SSPS rack in, you need the massive switch they run, otherwise it wont be SSPS, just a normal rack with an oversized pinion.

So your asking the one question for 2 separate things.


forgive me!! i have never actually seen a SSPS rack before... so the SSPS switch goes where the pressure switch is normally located stocko I6 racks??

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

s**t no, the SSPS pinion is waaaayyyyyy diff...give me a few mins, ill try to find ppics....

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

buggered if i can find a picture of a SSPS rack.

But the normal racks, where the pinion and the hoses connect to, thats made out of cast iron. So that when the pinion turns from steering column it will create less wear n tear.

But on a SSPS the cast iron housing is about double the height. And instead of a switch thats the size of a 20cent peice, it uses a solanoid about the size of a 50cent peice. This solanoid controls the flow of the fluid going into the rack. So at low speeds, will be open, letting heaps of fluid in and at high speeds, restricts it all. You need an ECU from a car that was built with it as the ecu reads the motor and then tells the solanoid to open and shut.

Apart from that cast iron housing, the rest of the rack is exactly the same as a normal one. Even the main shaft and seals are the same in the alloy section.

If i do eventually find a picture, ill post it. Or if i go down to the workshop ill take a photo of them both to compare for ya.

Cheers

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 1:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

right cheers. To cut a long story short, when i go to buy a SSPS rack, do i need to buy one thats specific to the V8 or are the I6 and V8 SSPS rack exactly the same?

And yes i have a DL LTD ECU!!

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 557

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF

Location: Keilor, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

That one I don't know off the top of my head. I cant see why they wouldnt. The mounting points to the K-frame are the same, the pinions are the same. But I would suggest ringing a power steering place to double check that. I only know so much, they know more.

Try Australian CV & Power Steering. The number is 03 9338 9455. Ask For Morris.

 

_________________

<img src="http://i29.photobucket.com/albums/c260/demoniquekryes/Bothcars1.jpg" alt="Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting"><br><br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2007 3:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Both the same, and the SSPS is only in the power head of the rack, so you can add or remove it at any time.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:59 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names