Fordmods Logo

Steering Rack 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Steering Rack
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

Is this an easy job to replace???
Or do ya need special tools??

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Easy job, hardest bit is making it fo straight (get a wheel alignment), and removing the ball joints from the rack.

The P/S fluid will have to be drained to.

All in All easy job for simple tools.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 727

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Concorde

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

i need to do this too, looks like an easy job, i'll be doing my radius rod bushes at the same time.

 

_________________

2nd Place Summernats19 SQ Comp, Street Pro 0-600 Class
STEREO - 128.7db
JVC EXAD DVD and surround sound
3 X 10" Lanzar Dual Voice Coil 6ohm Subs
4 X 6.5" Alpine S-Type 2-way, front and back
JVC 6.6cm Center Speaker
Engine -
2.5" exhaust, SS Inductions CAI, K&N air filter. 132.6rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:18 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sorry to hijack the thread but would an EA Series I 1989 Fairmont Ghia rack and pinion fit in an EL 1996 Fairmont?? cause i just got my EA one replaced and then i felt like getting an EL. was wondering if i could change them over

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:48 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

if your EL is a fairmont ghia, and has speed sensitive power steering, you will lose that function with an EA rack... other than that, they should be the same.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:37 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

justfordima wrote:
if your EL is a fairmont ghia, and has speed sensitive power steering, you will lose that function with an EA rack... other than that, they should be the same.


Cheers


i have a normal Fairmont and i dun think it has a speed sensitive power steering since its not a ghia. hmmm might change it over and see

cheers

sorry once again to hijack

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah, non ghias didn't have speed sensitive steering.. you should be alright.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 29, 2006 4:48 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 215

Joined: 1st May 2005

Location: VB country
VIC, Australia

my steering rack is pissing out fluid and im not to sure where its coming from...any ideas??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 11:11 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

it might be in the new thread you should open, instead of hijacking.... just a thought.



Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 9:36 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

well $375 for a RECO rack installed :lol:
or a 2nd hand rack for $100 & as I don't have the help at the moement it looks like I'll be getting it installed but hey I get a wheel alignment at the sametime included.

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 12:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 426

Joined: 26th Jan 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EB GLi 4.0L

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ex-cabi wrote:
my steering rack is pissing out fluid and im not to sure where its coming from...any ideas??


it'll be ur pressure switch...and as justfordima said: dont hijack!!!

 

_________________

EBII 4.0L GLi | T5 | 3.27 Spool | POD | KKK K27 Turbo | 600x300x76 FMIC | 40mm Wastegate (dead) | RPD Stg1 Cam | B&M Launch Control | Thermos | 3" Dump | Twin 2.25" Zorst | 197kw@3500rpm, 7psi LEAN!

To Come: Hydraulic Handbrake | Coilover Springs | Fuel Pump | Microtech MT8 | 455cc Injectors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 01, 2006 4:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Easy to replace the rack and no real need to get a wheel alignment done straight away. All that will change is the toe in/out. Its meant to be 0mm or 1mm max toe in. Meaning same distance between the rear and front of the wheel or 1mm less on the front than the rear. You can do the largest part at home then get the toe in as close as possible then get a wheel alignment done later, will be alot cheaper that wayin labour costs.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 04, 2006 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

well rack is in & its a RECO rack but the car is still making clunking noises when turnin into driveways that have a incline, could it be my bushes?
I did replace the bottom a year & a half ago.

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 05, 2006 2:03 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

:S is it squeaky noise too? maybe ur springs are just screeching. if not might be ur bushes....i gotta check mine too. tell me how that goes =D

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:44 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names