Fordmods Logo

Stop and brake light isse on one side 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Stop and brake light isse on one side
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 3:36 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 155

Joined: 12th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: LA LA LAND
VIC, Australia

Hello all,
Problem,
Passenger brake light working fine.
Drivers brake light works fine if parks and head lights are switched off.
When I turn the parks on it won't work at all.
With the head lights on the drivers side brake and stop light are on all the time and don't go off.
Less than 10k ago the brake light switch was replaced.
If this relates to that I don't know.
I have two brake light harneses coming to me, if I replace could that help, (is it difficult)?
Visually checked fuses, look fine. Any ideas? HELP
Thank you in advance.

 

_________________

Don't bug me unless you have chocolate or a cure for PMT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 839

Joined: 10th Sep 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: V8 Falcon, Nissan Patrol

Location: Brisbane, Bouncing off 5800RPM
QLD, Australia

Ask a commodore forum, as every VN i see has this same problem.

But it sounds like an earth problem, check for a loose earth

 

_________________

1993 Ford Fairmont EB II 5.0L V8 Wagon
1992 Nissan Patrol TI 4.2L Diesel 4x4 Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 28

Posts: 554

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: ef 5 speed

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

maybe check your globe earths saw it at work the other day

 

_________________

i am in need of a new front bar or good condation secondhand for a 95 ef futra,
lsd for a for ef ,modifed au sump to go in and ef , working air con compressor

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:22 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 155

Joined: 12th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: LA LA LAND
VIC, Australia

Cheers guys,

the earth is in the brake light wiring harnes?

 

_________________

Don't bug me unless you have chocolate or a cure for PMT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:25 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 48

Joined: 19th May 2006

Ride: BF GT-P

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Clean inside the globe socket, The contacts and the edges of the socket and clean the metal base of the globe and the globe contacts. If that doesn't work put a new globe in or swap the one from the other side and test that if it works ok get a new globe. Also check the earth for good contact and tightness.

 

_________________

THERE'S NOTHING SO GREAT AS A THUMPING V8

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 48

Joined: 19th May 2006

Ride: BF GT-P

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

newby wrote:
Cheers guys,

the earth is in the brake light wiring harnes?


There should be a black wire coming off the light socket thats the earth wire check you have good contact at the socket, the wire is not damaged/broken and check the other end of the wire for good contact to the body.

 

_________________

THERE'S NOTHING SO GREAT AS A THUMPING V8

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:13 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Did you install double filament globes or Single one?

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

FairmontXR6 wrote:
Ask a commodore forum, as every VN i see has this same problem.

But it sounds like an earth problem, check for a loose earth


and the solution to that particular model is the globe earthing in the harness. that's why in VP's there is a plug about 30cm after the globe holders - so that you can remove it and replace it easy :lol:

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:45 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 155

Joined: 12th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: LA LA LAND
VIC, Australia

Krytox wrote:
Did you install double filament globes or Single one?


I read somewhere that could be an issue, changed the single filarment LED brake light globes on both sides back to double normal globes but it didn't make a difference.

 

_________________

Don't bug me unless you have chocolate or a cure for PMT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

the bulb holders are known for cracking and losing their earths. they then get their earth through the parker light circuit until the lights are turned on.
sounds like the bulb holder is stuffed to me.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:38 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 155

Joined: 12th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: LA LA LAND
VIC, Australia

Cheers smoke_

Maybe the quote I got the other day of $500ish to fix this 'complicated' problem was a little excessive :roll:

 

_________________

Don't bug me unless you have chocolate or a cure for PMT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:49 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

You should be able to nail this on your own - put your $500 to better use.

Here's a similar thread: http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=48627

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 6:26 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 155

Joined: 12th Jun 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: LA LA LAND
VIC, Australia

smoke_ wrote:
the bulb holders are known for cracking and losing their earths. they then get their earth through the parker light circuit until the lights are turned on.
sounds like the bulb holder is stuffed to me.


Spot-on, I had a look and poked around in the socket and things seemed ok after that but the stop light problem re-accured two days ago.

I have just changed over both tail light looms. Fortunately thats alot easier than the brake light switch and for the moment all seems to be fine.

When I first fitted clear tail lights I had problems with the aftermarket red globes- getting them to sit and stay in. Maybe my fiddeling about stuffed the earth(s) connection in the previous sockets- heres hopeing.
Thanks for all the help.

 

_________________

Don't bug me unless you have chocolate or a cure for PMT

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: falcs93 and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names