Fordmods Logo

strengthening the BTR 4 speed 

 

Page 4 of 4 [ 54 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 4:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 553

Joined: 28th Oct 2005

Ride: Peacock EB Falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Vic wrote:
I'm running the BTR97LE in my EL and it's currently pushing 220+rwkw. The box is stock and mechanically unmodified. I do however have my v500 controlling the BTR so the box is correctly programmed to cope with the extra power & torque and it's still functioning fine with all the abuse I give it daily. I guess what I'm saying is that while the BTR can always be mechanically modified to cope with lots more grunt, just programming it correctly allows it to function far better than OEM factory programming does, preventing any unnecessary strain on the BTR.


From what I have read, this is pretty much it. The box is free'd up by running it with an external controller.

Also there aren't really many mechanical mods for the box because most of the components are over engineered, the few tricks that are around are basically making the best of the parts available. Most reported issues are from heavy use/abuse by regular drivers, Ford really should have spent a few extra dollars and fitted their towing cooler to every single one.

 

_________________

Wanted, CFI manifold

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

I agree with you on the thought of a mandatory oil cooler. Fortunately mine was optioned with towbar so I got the cooler.
But when I first ran the stroker on thru this box with the original ATC, the BTR just couldn't cope as all the values were set for a fairly mellow 5L and I was putting twice as much hp and tq into it. The shifting was slipping under load and line pressure was woefully low and it was unable to shift hard and fast enough. Poor box was taking a battering.
But now the trans has the new programming, it's like a new transmission. I know from speaking with some performance builders that these BTR's are actually good for a lot of rwkw. Just remains to tune it right and then reinforce it better if you want 350 ~ 400+rwkw.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

Now that you can alter line speed and shift points with the J3 there should be a few quicker BTRs getting around in the older e-series :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 55

Posts: 1566

Joined: 12th Apr 2008

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: 5.0lt NF /351 ZD Fairlane

Location: Wattle Grove
NSW, Australia

galapogos01 wrote:
Now that you can alter line speed and shift points with the J3 there should be a few quicker BTRs getting around in the older e-series :)


What about V8's? they have the separate control module, any luck with them?

 

_________________

Image
NF Fairlane with 5.0 and 5 speed goodness!
ZD build thread under construction at post1136180.html#p1136180

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1140

Joined: 27th Feb 2005

Ride: Supercharged EF Fairmont

Location: T.I. Performance HQ
VIC, Australia

They don't have a J3 port now do they! :)

Running an AU ECU may be an option, lot of work though (coilpack etc).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 11:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

When I bought my EB, the previous own had stated he had the box rebuilt 25000 km's before & spent $2500 mates rates.
Compared to driving other falcons I find if I drive the car slow or take my foot off the accelerator before it changes I do get a thud noise when it changes up, although when taking off at a set of lights in a 80 zone/using an on ramp to a Freeway the car will shift nicely, when I drive it through 50/60 zones I will give it a bit just to have nice shifts. When using the gears with the shift kit on & Power she gets up & goes with chirping 2nd.

The only thing I have had to get fixed on the box was the selector switch on the left hand side of the box plus heat shielding added to stop it getting melted as the pacies line up there.

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 131

Joined: 5th Aug 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Vic wrote:
I agree with you on the thought of a mandatory oil cooler. Fortunately mine was optioned with towbar so I got the cooler.
But when I first ran the stroker on thru this box with the original ATC, the BTR just couldn't cope as all the values were set for a fairly mellow 5L and I was putting twice as much hp and tq into it. The shifting was slipping under load and line pressure was woefully low and it was unable to shift hard and fast enough. Poor box was taking a battering.
But now the trans has the new programming, it's like a new transmission. I know from speaking with some performance builders that these BTR's are actually good for a lot of rwkw. Just remains to tune it right and then reinforce it better if you want 350 ~ 400+rwkw.
-can the tcu in the EL V8 be re programed?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Well, I'm not sure the factory ATC on the V8 can be reprogrammed. I believe some of the people on here that use the J3 chip may have access to the 6 cyl ATC but I am unsure whether they can access the V8 one.
For myself, I am using the Wolf v500 ECU and that is capable of running and tuning the V8's ATC as well as the 6 cyl ATC.
Not sure if any other ECU specialists have been able to incorporate transmission control in their products, sorry.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: strengthening the BTR 4 speed
Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 9:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 28

Joined: 17th Feb 2008

Ride: 92 EB S

Location: Temora
NSW, Australia

how about a TKO600 for $3050 from mal wood? It's a bit more after you get a clutch for your aplication. That was his suggestion when I wanted to run 400rwkw. Is there any reason you want to stay auto? Just thinking by the time you get a rebuild, stally, maybe go c4 or c10 etc you aren't going to be that far infront?

But I'm trying to build it so I can't break it lol. Power skids and hard launches!!!

 

_________________

JackoTJK

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 4 of 4  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:18 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names