Fordmods Logo

Swapping gearboxs 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Swapping gearboxs
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 145

Joined: 18th May 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey all, quick question

everyone swaps thier autos to manuals, but i have a 3 speed in me fairmont, and a 4 speed in the S pac, what would i need to do to swap them over between the 2?. both are EA's.

thanks

Lynx

 

_________________

1989 Fairmont Ghia
3.9L
5 Spd Manual
2.77 LSD
2.5" Mercury Sports exhaust
Extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Swapping gearboxs
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1142

Joined: 17th Sep 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Lynx_E's wrote:
hey all, quick question

everyone swaps thier autos to manuals, but i have a 3 speed in me fairmont, and a 4 speed in the S pac, what would i need to do to swap them over between the 2?. both are EA's.

thanks

Lynx


Time and money

vik...A hoist would be handy too :P :P :P

 

_________________

[b]BANNED[\b]

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

^^^ bloody useless post wasnt it

the boxes will swap over easy enough, but the wiring is a bit of a pain. Basically you need to swap the TCU and wiring loom over with it.

Also you need to swap tailshafts, and most likely the diff flanges will be different as well.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

man if they are both ea's they should have the tailshafts the same, i had an xf tailshaft in my ea 4 speed auto, so they must be the same. with the small bolt on clamps that hold the uni joints onto the diff.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 3:35 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 145

Joined: 18th May 2006

Ride: EA Falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

so has noone done this conversion before?

 

_________________

1989 Fairmont Ghia
3.9L
5 Spd Manual
2.77 LSD
2.5" Mercury Sports exhaust
Extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 6:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yes it has been done and is possible. and there was some information on this site, I would think that there is some information in the driveline modifications section there somewhere. hey i was kinda iffy about wether an ea t5 manual would go behind an ef 6, and yes it does. so thats good eh.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 7:57 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well I think you need to swap ECUs as well if you are going to do this swapping. 3 Speed is hydraulic controlled and the 4 speed is controlled via computer. Not sure if that's what stockstandard meant with the TCU cause I don't know what a TCU is :oops:

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 8:49 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 378

Joined: 3rd Dec 2004

Ride: EB V8

Location: Blue Mountains
NSW, Australia

Transmission Control Unit.

EA 4 speeds (& some later models inc V8s) have a separate computer to control the tranny & it talks to the ECU. Later on Ford intergrated the tranny control into the EECIV.

 

_________________

Production Editor of Performance Motoring at Express Media Group
shollier@expresspublications.com.au
Phone: (02) 9741 3838 (direct line)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 17, 2006 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1001

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Power: 132 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

i think i have an ea tranny control unit here somewhere you could have it hehe.

 

_________________

175.7hp 15.5 @ 374,000km
Team I have two E-Series AND all my teeth.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 18, 2006 12:06 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sam12h wrote:
Transmission Control Unit.

EA 4 speeds (& some later models inc V8s) have a separate computer to control the tranny & it talks to the ECU. Later on Ford intergrated the tranny control into the EECIV.


cheers for the wise enlightenmen sam12h

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names