Fordmods Logo

torque converter bolts 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: torque converter bolts
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:51 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 2nd Jan 2007

Ride: falcon s

Location: s/e melbourne
VIC, Australia

i have pulled the motor and transmission out of my ef falcon and im about to pull the transmission off but i have not a hope in hell of undoing the torque converter bolts, just wondering iff they are normal thread or reverse thread as i dont want to break the bolts. :lol: thankyou
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

Normal thread, get a decent spanner! Six sided impact socket, and 600mm breaker bar will make it easy for ya

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 10:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 59

Joined: 2nd Jan 2007

Ride: falcon s

Location: s/e melbourne
VIC, Australia

thankyou ill have a decent look tomorrow and then all i have to do is find a decent engine to put back in, oh and another trannie line where some one kinked it previuosly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 2:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just did that today... They were tight but I got them undone easy enough with a torque wrench.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 85

Posts: 1088

Joined: 30th Jan 2005

Gallery: 16 images

Ride: F350

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

MoNGooSE wrote:
Just did that today... They were tight but I got them undone easy enough with a torque wrench.


I would think twice about using a torque wrench for undoing bolts, it will always be suspect in the future for accuracy.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:05 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 49

Joined: 17th Jun 2007

Ride: TE Cortina

Location: Way down south
VIC, Australia

347stroker wrote:
MoNGooSE wrote:
Just did that today... They were tight but I got them undone easy enough with a torque wrench.


I would think twice about using a torque wrench for undoing bolts, it will always be suspect in the future for accuracy.



I Second that..... pretty silly thing to do..

How about going to a tool sales shop and purchasing a long 1/2" breaker bar. Such as the ones used to remove wheel nuts....? Thats what I use and its fine...

 

_________________

Horsepower Sells cars, Torques wins races

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2945

Joined: 24th Jan 2005

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: XW, EL, Territory, VFR800

Power: 129 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Should have mentioned... I got two torque wrenches... One is old so we only use it as a long 1/2" bar. The other is almost brand new and we only use that for doing bolts up.

Besides, as far as I'm aware, that's a load of bull s**t. What both Dad and I were told in different trade schools anyway. In fact, we were taught the opposite. They said that doing bolts up with the torque wrench offset any inaccuracies created by doing up bolts constantly. But hey, everyone teaches and believes different things! I haven't seen any evidence either way.

Last edited by MoNGooSE on Sun Jul 29, 2007 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

still a problem if the wrench is set to highest torque setting???? not that i ever used mine to undo nuts or bolts for that very reason. but a mate of mine who is rebuilding his van motor does all the time. rekons its not a problem. Haven't checked his for accuracy against mine. maybe i should.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 6:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 296

Joined: 16th Oct 2006

Ride: 94 EF (OPT20), TF Cortina Ghia

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Oh and when it comes time to reatatch be sure to bolt the bell housing to the engine first. i had a motor rebuilt a few yrs back and the idiot decided to do up the bolts on the torque convertor first. pulled the tranny out of alignment and as soon as it was put into drive the trans chewed the s**t out of itself. i got less the 200m up the road. Bloke at the trans joint said i should punch the bloke who put the motor in fair in the mouth for such an amatureish mistake.

 

_________________

"Look I found tape, I'm a mechanic now!!!" Mike Teutul

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 1:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 581

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF Fairmont AU Falcon FG XR6

Location: Eastern Suburbs,VIC
VIC, Australia

would loose torque converter bolts make a (leaf in electric fan) sound

i got a noise it sounds like lifters but i and alot of mechincs recon its torque converter bolts

any help would be great

my fairmont sounds like a bucket of s**t to drive right now

cheers justin

 

_________________

My Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:05 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 147

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EF Falcon S6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i used my jack handle over a normal 1/4' seem to be enough leverage

 

_________________

360 CL Lebaron
Whipple EF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 1072

Joined: 6th Jul 2006

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Power: 106 rwkw

Location: Craigmore
SA, Australia

TickFordEFXR6 wrote:
would loose torque converter bolts make a (leaf in electric fan) sound

i got a noise it sounds like lifters but i and alot of mechincs recon its torque converter bolts

any help would be great

my fairmont sounds like a bucket of s**t to drive right now

cheers justin


easy enough to check, pull off the inspection plate, if you can move the flexplate back and forward you got problems buddy

 

_________________

2003 BA Falcon Egas Taxi Pack - XR Replica
Tpak MKII Build Thread

1984 ZL Fairlane
The Project

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 581

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF Fairmont AU Falcon FG XR6

Location: Eastern Suburbs,VIC
VIC, Australia

all done was the bolts

the holes in the driveplate are now oval so ive tighened them up when they come loose again hi stall and new driveplate go in :D

 

_________________

My Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: pinjarra
WA, Australia

if them holes were that bad the bolts would be f#*ked to and will snap now that youve loaded em up tight....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 9:56 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 181

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Location: pinjarra
WA, Australia

KeeddleZ wrote:
i used my jack handle over a normal 1/4' seem to be enough leverage
1/4" is a bit small to be puttin a lever bar over thats wors than using the torque rench backwards.. maybe you mean 1/2" or 3/4" drive
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names