Fordmods Logo

Torque converter lock-up override circuit 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

do a tech doc on how you installed it all. some ppl might find it interesting

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 1:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1780

Joined: 31st Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 07 BF mk2 E-gas wagon + eb 5.0

Power: 174 rwkw

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

wazza12 wrote:
twason wrote:
Very good but excuse my ignorance but when would you need to lock it up other than when the ECU does it?


1. towing caravan uphill in 3rd gear.

2. downhill braking.

3. Cruising round town at low speed (<80kmh
), in 4th gear, with power mode on, for better fuel economy.

I've been watching the green light, and the TC is always swithing on and off when being controlled by the ECU.


no. 3 annoys the snot out of me esp. in the ba as it is way to thirsty for my liking. every time i slightly accelerate or hit a slight rise she unlocks when it could quite easily handle it locked up in 4th. these cars are quite torquey now for a std car and are not straining the gearbox trying to maintain 60 -80kph up a hill. at least with the ba i can flick it over into sport mode and its a lot better.

my eb needs all the help it can get when it comes to economy.

great idea.

 

_________________

eb v8: low loud and fast. just how a v8 should be. i guess the big question is, is it fast enough...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2006 2:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 132

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Fairmont 5.0

Location: Adelaide, SA
SA, Australia

The V8 and I6 shift patterns are quite different, don't forget this when comparing cars....

I've thought about this mod a few times, especially now I have a hi-stall. I guess the reason I haven't is because I've become use to altering my driving style so the convertor locks up. As others have said, the convertor lockup clutch is quite small, it won't handle much torque, so I don't want to forget about unlocking it and burn it out. It would be interesting to see what difference it makes though.

AFAIK, the TCC only locking up in 3rd and 4th is because of the way the BTR box is designed. It uses a solenoid and oil pressure for the TCC, when the box is in 1st or 2nd, there isn't enough pressure to keep the TCC reliably locked up, so there's a mechanical lock-out built-in. It also enables a LHM if the TCC locks up, the car can drive home in 2nd.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 8:57 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 10th Feb 2006

Location: dubbo
NSW, Australia

Aaron_EF8 wrote:
The V8 and I6 shift patterns are quite different, don't forget this when comparing cars....

I've thought about this mod a few times, especially now I have a hi-stall. I guess the reason I haven't is because I've become use to altering my driving style so the convertor locks up.


It's interesting, just having the LED's there to indicate when the torque converter locks up changes the way I drive too. So I'm finding all of the time I have it turned off, and I just watch the torque converter engage when the LED lights up.

What I've noticed is:
The Torque converter lock up comes on and off quite often. On when you accelerate, off when you decelerate.
It comes on a lot more in economy mode.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 11:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 839

Joined: 10th Sep 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: V8 Falcon, Nissan Patrol

Location: Brisbane, Bouncing off 5800RPM
QLD, Australia

VOTE ONE FOR STICKY!!!!!!!!

Sorry for the threadmine, but it is almost exactly what I want to know, except...

how can you modify your circiut to unlock the torque convertor?

 

_________________

1993 Ford Fairmont EB II 5.0L V8 Wagon
1992 Nissan Patrol TI 4.2L Diesel 4x4 Wagon

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2448

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

You could use this in conjunction with the intercooler water spray controller (Autospeed) or the Throttle position switch (Jaycar) so that it locks under a certain range of throttle - say from slightly on, through to 80%. Will still unlock at 100% then...

Hmm

Id rather hack the code on a V8 TCM for interest...but this is a good idea
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re:
Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 10:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 10th Feb 2006

Location: Dubbo
NSW, Australia

FairmontXR6 wrote:
how can you modify your circiut to unlock the torque convertor?


Do you mean unlock it when the car is trying to lock it, or lust unlock it after you're locked it manually.

If the second - just switch the switch to off and it unlocks. It's not stuck on.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 12:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names