Fordmods Logo

torque converter? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: torque converter?
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:56 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2005

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Wagga Wagga
NSW, Australia

Hello everyone,


Just wondering who does a high stall torque converter to suit a El 6 cyl?

I had a jim mock converter in and it was slipping. Just wondering if anyone else makes em?

 

_________________

LIVE LIFE FLAT OUT AND SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Just about any trans shop

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 11:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1863

Joined: 30th Apr 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Is the slipping you mention simply the hi stall doin it's thing?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:17 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2005

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Wagga Wagga
NSW, Australia

nah its not flashing to 3000 rpm. i can pu my foot flat and the revs just sit there at 2800rpm untill my car speed is up to the rpm. When i first had it in it flashed to 3000 rpm untill i heard a crack noise(4 take offs after installed) and it started slipping. now its getting even worse.

 

_________________

LIVE LIFE FLAT OUT AND SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:35 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 46

Posts: 33

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Ouch, surely it would be under warranty?

 

_________________

AU2 XR6 VCT -PH4480 headers Redback 2.5inch High Flow Cat & cat back Henreich Edit KPM custom grind VCT Cam G & D intake Eagle spiral core leads Autolite Platimum Plus Plugs Leather Momo wheel Chrome highlights Custom sound system

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 3763

Joined: 25th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EFII 5.8 NOS TerroristGhia

Power: 274 rwkw

Location: Sydney Australia
NSW, Australia

Crescent motors in Sydney do one, fairly well priced too, Data Mine from here had one, and i think he was pretty happy with it til he got his GT
Brett

 

_________________

The Terrorist ED Retired due to RUST.
The TerrosistGhia, EF Ghia 351 EFI 5 Speed.
Millennium Falcon, Sleeper EL DOHC 6 Speed Manual EFI LPG
Member#1131
I didn't Vote for Multiculturalism, DID YOU!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:46 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

so after 4 takeoffs it started stuffing up?

you took it back to Jim right? RIGHT?

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 3:44 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 54

Joined: 27th May 2005

Ride: el fairmont ghia

Location: Wagga Wagga
NSW, Australia

rang him up and told him about it, and he reckons its ok so thats enough of jim mock stallys for me!

I'm thinking of just a dominator now. found out i can get it cheap through work. Not sure how much yet.

I got a cam and valve springs through work, brand new crow cams stuff with total of $270 :D

 

_________________

LIVE LIFE FLAT OUT AND SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:14 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names