Fordmods Logo

tranny not styaing down 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: tranny not styaing down
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:11 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys,
recently my tranny wont stay in first.
i.e. if i put the shifter in first, and take off normally, it will still change into second.

is this just a wire/fuse problem, or is my tranny on the way out?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 1032

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: Shockwave BA XR6

Power: 152 rwkw

Location: Caroline Springs
VIC, Australia

try changing the neutral switch on the left hand side of the auto
it is more than likely your problem
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: re tranny changing
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Sep 2005

Ride: falcon gli

Location: northern suburbs
SA, Australia

i had same trouble on my ef recently go to the wreckers and get another reverse neatral swith u will need an 8 mm spanner and a screw driver and and a smear of grease and 10 mins labour will fix the problem

 

_________________

runamukrules

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:22 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

kk thanks heaps
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: re tranny
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:30 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Sep 2005

Ride: falcon gli

Location: northern suburbs
SA, Australia

no worries mate and the switch shouldnt be any more than 30 second hand or about 70 new :D

 

_________________

runamukrules

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:10 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

damb!
will it effect anything else is i don't replace it for a few months?>
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:19 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 1880

Joined: 22nd Apr 2005

Ride: ED Futura

Location: Seymour
VIC, Australia

Your's may of just came loose or the connectors may be dirty, jump under the car and check first mate.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:39 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 379

Joined: 17th May 2006

Gallery: 26 images

Ride: 2003 BA XR6 TURBO!!!!!

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

k sweet, will do.
im just so broke atm, but i got my T5 box at home, so if it can hold off a few months i'll just chuck that in insted, but i'll check it t0morrow when cars on a hoist.

hahaha saying hoist, anyone else have to lift there car to fit hoist arms underneith?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 11:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 1880

Joined: 22nd Apr 2005

Ride: ED Futura

Location: Seymour
VIC, Australia

where do you get the use of a hoist? When I get the EF on the road again I'll be looking for a hoist so I can fit the T5.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names