Fordmods Logo

Trans or Torque Converter 

 

Page 2 of 4 [ 58 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

do ef/el have bands?
i thought they wer solenoid operated, correct me if im wrong

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:38 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

mmmm i wonder what the hell is the go , its really interesting to find out why it does this.

are there any gearbox experts in these forums?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 10:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 474

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA

Location: SYD
NSW, Australia

I'm pretty sure they have self adjusting solenoids. Have a yarn to the shop that reco'd it. This would s**t me as I like the odd drive up and down Macquarie and Jamberoo Pass.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:04 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 248

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: FG XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

No message.

 

_________________

EL2 XR8 Auto 13.64 @ 100.76 MPH with a 2.05 60ft. Now sold!

Last edited by Trick Flow EL on Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 12:33 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So there is no OBVIOUS Explanation?

And if so , where could the problem start and finish , between which 2 parts

the torque converter and diff ?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 25, 2004 3:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

oops my bad, dunno why the hell that posted there, prob was too tired to pay attention :P LOL

then again, 50% of people do that lol (post randomly)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 1:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 482

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: VL RB30E

Location: aspendale / frankson
VIC, Australia

yes this was ment to do this there is a away to get around it there was a doco on here before it crashed,

 

_________________

Spooling soon...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

smoke_rubber wrote:
do ef/el have bands?
i thought they wer solenoid operated, correct me if im wrong





solenoid or not they still HAVE to have bands in them. the bands are still aplied by an hydraulic servo, the solenoids control the fluid flow to and from the servos and clutches

this can not be caused by worn bands or clutches as the there would also be problems on acceleration.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 26, 2004 2:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

cheers mate, i just wasn't sure.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:50 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So its the gearbox???

the bands are sliping? howcome everything about my gearbox seems normal only that i cant down gear?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 1:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

ThinkTank wrote:
So its the gearbox???

the bands are sliping? howcome everything about my gearbox seems normal only that i cant down gear?




no it's not your gear box and the bands are not slipping.

it might be an electrical fault in the box or it might just be the way ford programed it.(though i'm not sure about the programming bit as all the times ive driven them i havn't realy taken much notic of it.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

As Tickford 6 said its definately not your bands. Ive got a feeling that it is one of 2 things. 1) converter slip due to design or 2) lock up converter disengaging for whatever reason, maybe because as previosly mentioned it may be a computer controlled thing that may be to save fuel. My EF doesnt seem to suffer this prob cause if I stick it back in 2nd coming down bells line of road it stays there till I shift it. It pulls up on the compression braking untill it falls to around 2500rpm then the converter slips and has no effect under that.

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Why would anyone out there seek out a torque converter like mine?

Thanks for the ideas , i dont personaly belive its my gearbox, i would more so blame my converter for this. but IVE NEVER heard of a torque converter doing this . Theres a first time for everything.

In reverse the gear will hold , its just in the drive gears it does not. MOFO is pissing me of.

What steps should i take to figure out what really is the problem? go to a gearbox mechanic and make sure nothing is wrong with the box, or should i just go change the torque converter?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1037

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: V8 T5 Fairmont & BA XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Speak to someone like 9PSI EB off Mechanical Forums who has built the shift kits for a lot of FM members. He or some one he knows should be able to point you in the direction of being able to control the lockup option of the converter. This mod should only cost you about $15 in components from Jaycar and around an hour of your time. Having the ability to manually lock the converter is going to solve your problem for sure, and as a side effect should give you better fuel economy as well. It may not fix your problem but the auto box was never designed with compression braking in mind. If you go to transmission places all they will do is tell you that the problem is in your head or they will rip you off large sums of money because they feel that your gullable. The sad truth :roll:
BTW a new converter will probably set you back around $500-600. No comparison to a $10 fix

 

_________________

Dima, Mitch & Jay's RPD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

ThinkTank wrote:
So there is no OBVIOUS Explanation?

And if so , where could the problem start and finish , between which 2 parts

the torque converter and diff ?


Well I dont think it would be the engine, and it wouldnt be anything rearwards of te tailshaft, so its obviously gearbox or torque converter.

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names