Fordmods Logo

Trans or Torque Converter 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 58 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: Trans or Torque Converter
Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2004 5:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ive posted about this problem before but i dident really get a solid responce or feedback. Maybe some of you can understand what is going on with my car.

Lets say for example going down a very steep hill , (like the one that goes for 4 k towards wollongong) if i want to easy presure of my brakes i want to be able to choose a gear to compresion brake with BUT this is not the case with my EL , the second you let go of the accelerator the gear does not hold anymore the revs will drop asif you just put it in neutral and when you apply the accelerator again the revs will lift and will grab the gearbox again.

Have i lost you guys yet??

lets say i leave it in first gear and get to about 70kph it would be revving at about 5000 or so , if i let go of the accerator the car will then roll and the revs drop down to idle , if i apply the accel again the revs will lift and grab the gearbox at about 4000. However if i put it in reverse and do about 60kph in reverse the gears grab and the revs hold .

Its been like this since i can remember or noticed that i could not down gear , but i want to find out if its my torgue converter or my box.

i want to be able to go 80 down a hill leave it in 2nd to easy presure of my brakes but i cant, my brakes take all the weight.

Anyone know what could be wrong?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 698

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon Panelvan

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

low gearbpox oil doner that to minee

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:22 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

XGPANELVAN wrote:
low gearbpox oil doner that to minee


Naa i got heaps.

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:00 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Mine does the exact same thing since I've had it, I've got the correct amount of fluid and I would LOVE to know what's causing it!

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

So basically you're saying there's no engine braking using the gears?

Sounds like the box, common amoung taxis and ex taxis - many falcon owners have reported this problem. I think it may be one of the clutch packs that gives up the ghost.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: American FM Band.. -> AUS
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 10:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 2215

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: Oettinger Golf GTI

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Curious about if i got a Deck from the states if the radio tuner would work fine here in aus?

Anyone know?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: American FM Band.. -> AUS
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:13 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 62

Posts: 285

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: buick

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

fuzion wrote:
Curious about if i got a Deck from the states if the radio tuner would work fine here in aus?

Anyone know?


I think this post is out of tune with the rest of the tread. But yes if its for a car unless its the satalite pay radio gaget for your car they have over there.
ghiaman
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

moving back to the topic at hand, it sounds like it's shifting up, maybe you want one of those electronic shift kits, or something designed to hold it in gear till it reaches a higher rpm.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 474

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA

Location: SYD
NSW, Australia

How many K's on the box? Sounds like it's clapped out.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 474

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA

Location: SYD
NSW, Australia

smoke_rubber wrote:
moving back to the topic at hand, it sounds like it's shifting up, maybe you want one of those electronic shift kits, or something designed to hold it in gear till it reaches a higher rpm.


But he's pulling the selector back to first so it shouldn't be changing up til he moves the selector up a gear.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ah ok, yeah somethings wrong, but the commodores will shift up, even if you have it in 1, i don't know why it is, that is a crap design, i liked the falcons cause they don't do that.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 4:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Naa the gearbox is not that old , reconditioned it just before i put the new engine in .

Visualise this .....

Stopped at the lights , put the car into 1 (1st gear) and leave it on 1 , accelerate keeping it in first gear , when you let go of the accelerator the car will NOT HOLD the gear , it will purposly let go and the revs will drop to idle but your still rolling at the same speed asif it was in N . Then if you press the accelerator pedal the revs will lift to where you left of and you get power again to the wheels. The gearbox is NOT sliping it's like it was designed to do this .

With my other car, you do the same thing as above , leave it in first, accelerate , let go of the accelerator and the revs will NOT DROP it will stay in gear and down gear (engine braking or compresion brake) so as the car comes to a complete stop the revs match your speed.



This example is what my EL FALCON 98 model car does.

Image

as you can see, compresion braking or engine braking is NOT possible because evertime i take my foot of the accelerator pedal there is no more connection between the engine and the gearbox.


SOMEONE PLEASE think of a concept of what may be happening , i told my mechanic about it he said it could be the torque converter, others say something on the gearbox which controls this.

HIT ME

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

my ef holds on to the gear when i have it in 2 or 3. it revs high even when free-wheeling

mines done 255,000 on the original box

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 7:15 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 248

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: FG XR6T

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

No message

 

_________________

EL2 XR8 Auto 13.64 @ 100.76 MPH with a 2.05 60ft. Now sold!

Last edited by Trick Flow EL on Sat Dec 25, 2004 11:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 24, 2004 11:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 698

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon Panelvan

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

na i think its in the box, not the torque convertor .. i think ive heard something from someone before that the bands in the gearbox are f**k when that happends too ..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 58 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:54 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names